A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

One Nation


Historian and star of the amazing BBC series Coast Neil Oliver has written an open letter to the people of Scotland. It is just brilliant:

I will lay my cards on the table from the start: I will be voting No. I have no economic argument to make. Frankly, I am sick and tired of hearing people argue the toss about the pound, pensions and the rest. I am voting No because for me, the offering by the Yes camp lacks nobility and humanity. Even more importantly, it lacks class, far less any kind of panache.

People living in a fishing town in Cornwall have more in common with the inhabitants of a fishing town in Fife than either population has with the folk of a town in the Midlands. They have a shared experience and a common history of coping with lives shaped by the sea. The coast is another country – the fifth country – and it unites us and binds us like the hem of a garment.

The differences that are discernible as you travel around Britain are regional ones – made of accents and architecture, geology and geography. I am all in favour of people having the power to make decisions about their own patch: but I am utterly opposed to the idea of breaking centuries old bonds in order to make that happen.”

A voice of reason. A perfectly executed opinion–which for me–speaks volumes. At the end of the day, it’s all one piece of land which is an island. Why creates borders for the odd few that say I’m Scottish ‘cuz I was born in the north of the island? For goodness sake, there are far more important things in this world to sort out and make a better place to live in than a piece of land. No Vote wins narrowly: Yes campaign will be demanding new referendum within 10 years. Yes vote wins narrowly: that’s it. Lets aim to work together with the hope of creating a better fairer future, with a distinct “lack of class.” I love everyone.  We have to start somewhere.   Or is the WM machine too big and greedy to change?

Droplets of rain–poured down from the sky–splattered against the window and met the ground with a calming noise as if it was the sweet nectar of life that made Mother Earth radiate early this morning. When the world started to break down, the conditions in the atmosphere changed, and the light doesn’t reflect through moisture the way it used to, I tend to look up after it rains. It’s time to knit me some rainbow sorely missed. Here’s a staple piece on every breezy evening. The Dewsdrop & Petals shawl–with long striping or gradient color changes–would make a stunning fabric loosely draped for a very flattering effect. I am also tempting to dye a single-color ombre that runs the length of the yarn from lightest to darkest for this beauty. How does it sound?

Any Dracula enthusiast? May I present to you, by Sue Stratford‘s Knitted Meerkats, The Count Meerkat? Mwahahahaha! Recalling two years ago, I nearly dropped the morning cup of chai latte laughing. It is made using a double-strand of Debbie Bliss Angel and Rialto 4-ply for his cape and accessories. So luxurious and perfect for Halloween decor/cuddly toy, isn’t it? If you like this FREE pattern, get the book for the rest of adorable creatures.

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to fit it all in this month. Since I spend a lot of time plotting more projects than I could ever knit/crochet (and have the stash building up to show for it,) I have been thinking about making a few leaves–perfect, small project for my Tunisian Crochet fans. The flower string is intended for joining the leaf to a mobile or as a toy for the pram–reachable by a child to touch and to enjoy the colors. I’m using it for embellishment for wrapping presents, dressing up trees, lampshades, scarves, hats, slippers, boots, etc. Possibility is endless.

Thank you for stopping in and sharing my blog with friends. It brings me great pleasure to take you along on my journey of self discovery, self love, and crafty adventures! Visit me on Facebook here for more inspiring projects. As always, they are FREE(Another version of Emerald Shoulder Shrug knitted in an afternoon.)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

ღ¸.•*””*•.¸¸ ” ღ(✿◠‿◠)˙•٠•●ღ ƸӜƷ•.¸¸.• ƸӜƷ

(still doesn’t do MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook, a smartphone, and a little bit of texting!)

Leave a Reply

