A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Is It Time for Wool Yet?


I have very poor impulse control when it comes to test knitting for Connie.   Flashing some intricate ginkgo leaves in front of me is just asking for it.

Sure I could have continued with projects already on needles, but, it’s just a cowl…how long will that take to knit up?

And so!  I have whipped my winnings–Noro Silk Garden (131 yards or 59 grams of colorway 228C)–into a cowl.

I wanted to incorporate a little of my own, hand-dyed batts for the contrast rounds and leaves.

It didn’t take long to spin up 11 grams (43 yards’ worth) of Bluefaced Leicester fiber and plied with one of my KCL spindles. Nice thing for me about spinning and plying on a spindle…there is no need to set the already balanced 17-wpi yarn. I made up the 2-gram (or 5 yards) shortage with Lion Brand Superwash Merino Cashmere (Seaform 123.)

With an absolute want of wintry knits, I will need to hit the stash and make another fashionable one–but an infinity scarf that can be wrapped around the neck at least twice–before the temperatures dropped too much.

I love making ginkgo leaves. This one is so much fun to knit up, yet, different than any one I’ve made before. I just LOVE the quick, mindless knit. Highly recommended. What’s on your creative plate?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook and a little bit of texting!)

Comments on: "Is It Time for Wool Yet?" (1)

  1. Your stuff is neat. By the way I left you a pm at your ravelry mailbox

Leave a Reply

