A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Oh, gosh, what a week it has been!!  A week of mixed emotions…some happy, some funny, some terribly sad, and I’ve had some wow moments too!!  Catching up with old friend and chatting ’til the wee hours… just brilliant!!   The power of the internet… PRICELESS!!

Who’s in need of some stress-free sewing?  This girl!  How about you?  Fun is in the adventure. I was in for a real treat at Quiltworks today.

Whimsy, scrap quilting is my dear friend Kristin Shields‘ forte. Using up fabrics you already have in your stash.  She is a master.  She works in scraps as painters work in oils or watercolors.  Scraps are her true medium, they are her muse.

Choosing fabric for scrappy quilts is like going on a treasure hunt.  I never know what I’ll find or where I’ll find it.  Isn’t Marion’s scrap gorgeous?!

Scrap quilts are just like that.  Not every fabric in my stash or from my recent quilt store excursions will make it into this type of scrappy quilt. The goal is to have a quilt top with a unified color scheme.  But then, why should I?  Today, it’s all about liberated quilting.

Log cabin is first of three-workshop series, taught by my dear friend, Kristin Shields (this year’s SOQS Featured Quilter.)  As long as I’ve known Kristin since I moved to Bend, Or, she has always been an inspiring teacher (and student) at heart.  Not only is she a fantastic quilter/artist…she is a wonderful teacher with clarity, patient, and very encouraging. She is somebody who can communicate in a variety of different ways.

My chosen focus fabric is Kona solids.  As a owl-lover, the print caught my eye.

I am always be on the lookout for “things” that are pleasing to MY eyes.  Understanding color theory is wonderful, but, often I just trust my instincts.  They tend to serve me well.  Here is a studious owl gifted by Kristin during the class.  I will use it wisely 😀

Besides fussing over the bobbin tension, my first-day challenge was taking too long to decide if a fabric is playing nicely. Clearly it’s not.   Go on gut instinct here.  No over thinking.

Everyone in the class is an experienced and accomplished quilter.

It’s quite intimidating…

yet, I got over the nervousness swiftly and managed to plug along. Here is one of my wonky log-cabin blocks.

After lunch, we hopped to string fling.

First, the freestyle.  It doesn’t look purposeful; instead, it was improvisational in that I didn’t have to measure, just use strips of fabric.  That was kind of nice ‘cuz the cutting is my least favorite part of quilting.  Then came foundation piecing over a muslin square.

Here are samples of Marion’s masterpiece in the making.

There are pros and cons of the two.  My instinct takes me to freestyle, naturally.  But, I do like the clean/crisp, and uniform look of the foundation-pieced blocks.

So far, I am enjoying the process; revel in the new combinations this method brings me.  I love that no pattern is required–just start sewing and hacking away at my block until it’s wonky enough for my taste!  I love projects that are worry-free when it comes to color and fabric selection, design, or cutting and piecing precision.

Kristin’s enthusiasm for quilting is said to be contagious and I truly enjoy detailed instruction accompanied by lots of encouragement. Her quilts range from simple to complex and all are saturated with unexpected elements.

COMQG:  Show and Tell

I will remember to take more pictures at Workshop No. 2 Liberated Stars next month. I was ill-prepared since I didn’t sign up for the class until late afternoon yesterday.  I at least got a picture of everyone in the class.

Surely, I will have more to show for.   😀

Now it’s your turn! Have you made a scrap quilt? Was is fun?

By the way, should you wonder…I haven’t crossed over the other side…not a chance…I’m still knitting away. Next post will be about one of my many finished projects, I promise. Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook and a little bit of texting!)

Comments on: "Scrap-friendly. Fuss Free. Liberated" (6)

  1. Oh, I have to say I’m with you on freestyle quilting- it really is what I naturally trend towards and I am most pleased with, but in the same breath I cannot resist the perfection that foundation piecing offers. Does that make me bipolar or just well rounded?!? 🙂

    • Hahaahaa. I would say the latter, Angela. I love your quilts.

      am a novice when comes to quilt making…so matching points are challenging to me. I finished a quilt top few weeks ago and still milking over how to quilt it–some by hand; others machine-quilt. I am enjoying doodling with needles.

      I am an avid quilt-show goer 😀 (Wait ’til I get through 2,000 pictures taken at this year’s Outdoor Quilt Show in Sisters, OR.) I love contemporary, art quilts but do appreciate the traditional, utility quilts. Yet, perfection requires years of practice and I just don’t have that luxury lol So, I am settling in with wonky quilting and be happy with just that.

  2. I have to try one of the wonky log cabin blocks asap…great idea

    • Like knitting, I tend to like freeform play than following a pattern. Making wonky/liberating blocks is very zen, relaxing so long there is not a quilting police around lol

  3. Very nice post Sarah! Thank you! You are doing fine and I’m glad you are enjoying it. Have you figured out the tension? Maybe a trip to the fixit guy is in order.

    • I did. After fussing around, removing the bobbin case, cleaned out the lints…spent another hour on Saturday trying to figure out why the stitches skipping and then it won’t pick up the bobbin threads at all…just before I was ready to pack it up to take to Cynthia’s…somehow I had on a front-load presser foot (for my Singer machine.) Duh! So, I am good to go. Thanks so much, Kristin, for the fun. 😀

Leave a Reply

