A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Honor the Small Voice


within me.  There are times in my life when all events seem chaotic.  There are also times when I welcome those chaos.  These are just some of the thoughts that swirled around my head as I sat here organizing my June schedule.  Something good is going to happen to me.  I just know it.

Venezia Sport Cable Cardigan DK301 is a traditional, from the bottom up and seamed pattern, designed by Vera Sanon.  The complimentary design (courtesy of Cascade Yarns) comes with two neckline instructions:  1) narrow/higher and 2) wide necklines.  I opted for the higher neck option as I’m narrow in my shoulders,

All three hanks of Malabrigo Arroyo are same colorways–Archangel–yet all visually different…from light and bright to deep and rich.   First hank was a gift from sweet Hunter’s giveaway back in August, 2012.)

Modifications:

  • Gauge: 24 sts/32 rows (versus 28 rows) Made row adjustment to compensate the discrepancy
  • Knit in a round instead of pieces.  Cast on 67-108-67 stitches
  • Added invisible faux seam based on my hero Elizabeth Zimmerman’s method via Knitting Without Tears.  Repeated 2-1 slip-crochet pattern as I went every 2 inches or so.
  • Added waist shaping after 18 rows of stockinette.  Decreased every 9th rows 4 times.  Increased every 8th rows 4 times.  Last two increases worked into last stitch of cables repeat (in alignment with previous increase) using M1R/M1L appropriately.  (4 stitches to front edges/5 stitches on both side of back edges)
  • 74 rows=9.25” stockinette before cable began.
  • Left Front Cables: Flip-flopped Row 3 with Row 7 to mirror cables with Right Front.
  • Back Cables: First 4 repeats same as Right Front and last 4 repeats same as Left front.
  • 13 cable repeats total for both fronts
  • 1 7/8” garter band. 17” from Armhole–10.5” stockinette and 6.5” cables; 24” from center back to hem and 43” bottom width.
  • Shoulders: With right-side facing each other, 3-needle bind-off left shoulder stitches, bound off center back stitches for more structure, and 3-needle bind-off right shoulder stitches.
  • Neckline: With Size 000 needles, picked up and knit stitches starting right front to left front: 25-22-25-22-25 totaling 119 stitches.  Short-row 1.5” between shoulders.
  • Sleeves:   In rounds-two-at-a-time, cast on 66 sts.  Knit for 12 garter ridges plus 9 stockinette rounds, then followed rest of cap shaping, knitted flat.  To make this seamless, picked up 12 stitches off each center shoulder, ssk last stitch and a stitch off body on knit row, turn.  On purl row, slip first stitch and p2tog last stitch & a stitch off body.  Continued cap and rest of sleeve in reverse instruction.  Made it short sleeves.

The seamstress in me told me to line the bands with a fat quarter in my stash.   I obliged without a peep.  It took a bit more time for the finishing, but, the polished appeal was so worth every stitch of it

It’s such a lovely pattern…Venezia is my smart, casual, summer cardigan.

What can I say?  I am madly in love with the shell buttons and all the hand-sewing details added.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Leave a Reply

