A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Discerning Moments


As I became adult, what begins to distinguish me from childhood is the ability to know how much is too much and what is not enough.

Naturally, most kids don’t know limits.

While too much candy can make your stomach hurt, I can’t imagine daily life without the choice to fill the mind with words and images, ideas and images that are healthy and soothing to the soul.

These things can challenge thinking in a positive way.

Perhaps, challenge myself to read and gather energy from words that are more specific to my life.  Many choices…next to knitting, sewing, beading, playing with mixed media, hiking, cooking, photographing, etc. etc.

Featured Knits today are inspired by the Sellwood Bridge.  Twisted ribbing on the neck and leg/arm-warmer set mimics the meandering nature of the Willamette River, which flows under the beautiful and historic Sellwood Bridge.  The pattern was designed by Shannon Squire especially to participants of 2013 Rose City Yarn Crawl in Portland, Oregon, a few months ago.   One set was in Blue Moon Fiber Arts Victoria and the other in Socks That Rock MediumWeight–in ka-POW!, pa-TINA colorway.   I loved knitting ’em.  The bias repeats in between the stockinette fabric are just my level of enjoyment:  engaging, easy to read/memorize, no tricky bits.  Both the pattern and yarn are available at Twisted.  However, you will have to call the shop for BMF yarn–they aren’t offered online.

There’s been no big splashy stuff here lately and I can’t seem to finish anything.  But, I’m finding great delight in the small stuff.  Like this sewing project…more on that tomorrow.  I could stare at ’em all day.

What brings you real joy?   Do that…Be that…Share that…Spend more time with that and get more joy! ♥

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Discerning Moments" (4)

  1. What distinguishes adults from children is experience. I’m sure I mentioned this before. As children, our minds are like dry sponges, eagerly absorbing all experiences and converting them to memories. As we get old, our minds are like wet sponges, unable to retain in our minds all the experiences we wish. With memories limited as we grow older, it’s most important to experience as much as we want, as much as we can. Then, the best experiences are most likely to stay. Like what was drummed into me at boot camp, “Be all you can be.” Only now, as I grow older, do I realize how important those words are.

  2. Dear Sarah, I just read this wise saying this morning: If you have enough and it is not enough you will never have enough. Your delight in small things and your observations are so appreciated!

Leave a Reply

