A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Steer my Thoughts


Ponder these wise words:

“A man is what he thinks about all day long.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

“For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he. “. Proverbs 23:7

“A man is literally what he thinks, his character being the complete sum of all his thoughts.” James Allen, from As a Man Thinketh

Thoughts affect how I feel emotionally, how I act, who I am today, and who I will become.

Knowing this, it is my responsibility to steer my thoughts away from what I see as wrong with folks and the world…

instead, focus on the good in people, the beauty of life, and keep a positive attitude.

Today, I work at being honest about my feeling and base my relationships on respect and integrity.

My inspiration for choosing Cashvero DK (027 Royal Plum) for today’s featured sweater was not only the luscious feel, but, it’s the deep connection I have towards the mystical royal purple tourmaline, aka receptive stone–soothing, calming, inward, and magnetic, promoting meditation, spirituality, wisdom, compassion, and mysticism. It creates peace and promotes communication between the conscious and unconscious minds, allowing psychic awareness to blossom.

Emily, designed by Vera Sanon, is knit from top down and features set-in sleeves that are knit simultaneously with the upper body–and absolutely no short-rows.  The original neckline and the bottom of the sweater is adorned with a simple to knit slip-stitch patterns, but, looks rather stunning!  My modified version has 1) Estonian braid and slip-stitch pattern on sleeve cuffs in lieu of ribbing to match the rest of pattern feature; 2) Estonian braid before folded hems; and  3) folded hems in fingering-weight yarn for neckline, body and sleeve cuffs.  The Swarovski Crystal buttons from my stash have finally found her mate.  Totally ecstatic–it’s how I feel today.    How’s your day?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Steer my Thoughts" (3)

  1. Beautiful jumper! I am just exploring all manner of top down set in sleeves, what a revelation!

    • As a former theatrical tailor, I imagine you totally get my desire to enhance a already beautifully design sweater with added hems. Top-down, seamless, set-in sleeves are the new buzz in knitwear. Enjoy your exploration, Swantje. Thanks for taking time to leave your feedback so I discuss your beautiful place/blog 😀

  2. Well written…again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

