A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Every minute spent worrying about the way things were is a moment stolen from creating “the way things can be.”

Swim Meet at Juniper Swim & Fitness Center
Bend, OR, on May 4, 2013

I spent a significant amount of my adult life working hard and becoming proficient in things I thought I loved doing ‘cuz society told me I needed to do these things to become successful.  I was on a very secure road, but, how happy was I?   Eventually, I threw all that away to take some time to look at myself in the mirror and spent quality time with my children.  That was back in 2004.

Some  folks still questioned me…whether or not I had made the right decision.  They doubt my quality of life has indeed improved.

I may not live in a big house or drive fancy automobiles I once did.  But, I can tell you this.  I am finding my own way.  When I love what I do, I’ll never work a day in my life.

Every day, I take an honest look at myself and sift through the things I enjoy, or may enjoy, and narrow ’em down.

I enjoy what I’m doing so I work harder at task.

When I work hard at something I care about, I get better at it.

When I’m better at something that encompasses my joy and effort, good things happen.

I am having this talk with my 17-year-old teen.  The idea that she’s supposed to know exactly what she’s going to do with her life when she hits 18 is ludicrous.  There’s nothing wrong with bouncing around the things she loves until she finds one that becomes a viable career option for her.  You’re the future of this world.  Take time to explore and light up a whole roomful of possibilities.

Check out Larry Smith’s 14-minute funny and insightful TED talk Why you will fail to have a great career”…what do you think of it?  

No one can argue the amount of effort you put into something determines what you get out of it.  But, I think the problem is that most people don’t really know what they are passionate about in the first place.  Most people aren’t that introspective.  At 17, I wasn’t for sure.  Look.  If you have actually followed your passion from day one.  You are passionate about the competition.  I have the utmost respect for you and your accomplishments

For my kids…Everyone has something to give. Find your life purpose. Flawlessly, your passion will be exposed.  Don’t be afraid…Be yourself.  Follow your bliss.  Be all that you are, kids! Shine bright.

The Serriform scarf and shawlette shown above–in MadelineTosh Light Merino (Burnished)–is a super fun and satisfying knit.   Shannon Squire originally designed it as the February 2013 pattern for the Twisted Mad About Tosh Club.  The pattern (and the scrumptious MadelineTosh yarn) is now available to the general public at the shop.   Be sure to test drive the sample if and/or when you are in the Portland, Oregon area.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Passion + Efforts is a Yin + Yang" (2)

  1. You have a very fun, happy and wow amazing way to writ your blogs. Always love reading them….not to forget al the nice knitting, pictures and so much more
    Love Your Blog
    Hugs
    Jacqueline

    • Thanks, Jacqueline, for listening to my rambling 😀 I’m so thankful to not feeling alone here. I love following your adventure too ❤

Leave a Reply

