A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


In the storm, I find peace.

In the midst of chaos, I  find calm.

Amid the noise, I find some quiet.

In times of worry, I am assured and given comfort…

For I am loved, blessed, and so very grateful, always.

Seamless Poema in The Fibre Company Arcadia (Wild Onion) is knit from the top down, featuring a pretty, elegant Aran lace pattern on the sleeves.  It looks like lace…cables…but the truth be told, it’s only a simple combination of YO, knit, purl, K2tog & SSK stitches.   Instructions are included for ¾ length and full-length sleeves.

Because of its top-down construction, the body is easily adjusted to various body types.   Besides adding one extra waist decrease, another 2” for torso, waist increase at every 10th row plus one extra increase, I included 1” short-row to front (4 wraps/turns,) matching tucked seam before border to hem and cuffs.  Don’t get me wrong when I modify a pattern, which I often do.  In no way a design flaw…I am just anal about my finishing.

I love Vera Sanon‘s elegant designs and rarely say no to test knitting whenever she posts and/or asks.  Her instruction is simple and clearly written, with great layout.  Should an issue arise, the designer is always available for Q&As…very supportive, thoughtful, and genuinely loving.  Here is a truly super woman of my time!  Besides working a full 40-hour-week as a school teacher, teaching workshops at yarn shop locally and in Las Vegas on weekends, she cranks out at least one new design a week (sometimes more!)

Don’t believe me?  Take time and browse through her 100+ design patterns here.  I am sure you will find at least one project that pleases you.

About the lovely, silky yarn…this is one of my few pet peeves:  Less weight/yardage than labeled.  I’m no mathematics genius.  Out of 7 hanks/50g each,  I should have 350 grams in all.  Right?  Yet, I started out 342 grams with 31 grams left in the last hank.  8 grams or 24 yards less than labeled. Companies like Stonehedge Fiber Mill would have sold this at 30% discount as “irregular.” Nuff said.

What are some of your pet peeves?

How are you doing today/tonight?  My knitting peeps and I had a fabulous field trip to Sisters, visiting The Stitchin Post

and having lunch in Clearwater Gallery.  Yep.  It’s true.  Open Door may not be on the main street of Sisters, but, that’s just one of many attributes that make it so delightful.  It’s a place where I instantly feel at home, thanks to the friendly welcome from manager and staff,

the beautiful decor and tantalizing aromas wafting in from the kitchen.  On my third day of fasting, I gave myself permission to order a cup of roasted carrot and ginger soup.  I was not disappointed!  Neither were my friends with their food.  A warm, inviting place that encourages me to slow down and enjoy meeting friendly residents of Sisters, peruse beautiful art…thank you for the GIFT to the community, Dan & Julie Rickards.

Rest of the afternoon was as exhilarating and adventurous as the first half of the day with Caitlin and my mushroom-guru friend Julie.

Hope you are surrounded by peace, lots of love, and happiness.  Sending you good vibes and warm bright light-from my heart to yours.

Sorry for a flood of posts…I’m catching up on a week’s worth of posts that didn’t go out as scheduled last week.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Leave a Reply

