A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

The Beauty of Truth


Whether it’s good or bad, it is liberating

I don’t always need advice.

Sometimes all I really need is a hand to hold, an ear to listen, and a heart to understand me.

Whatever I need, my higher self is always there for me…loving me, guiding me, uplifting me, nurturing me…

 So today, I take time to silence the doubtful mind.

Go within and my gentle whispers will be heard…

Trust for I am never alone. ♥

Neither are you.

Back in early December, just few weeks before Christmas, a package of five–número cinco–glorious shop samples was lost in the mail.  Sad and tough lesson…USPS told me unless it’s shipped Express Mail and it’s insured…I am out of luck!  To-date, I still wonder where they landed…who is fortunate to be blessed with ’em, someone who really needed to be warm and had no way to have a good Christmas.

I offered to 1) pay for the expensive yarns out of pocket and 2) knit those again free of charge.  The owner accepted none of it.  Instead, she sent out new yarns for two more of Mesh Leaf cowls in Filatura Di Crosa Superior (light teal) and Swans Island Natural Color Merino/Silk (silver.)

Not only the pattern is awesome, both yarn are to die for…luxurious fine, silky, soft yarn are echoed in its sophisticated palette of solid colors.  This floaty, ultra-feminine scarf is heavenly to wear next to skin.  See how easy this beautiful design is…I knitted both two-at-a-time.  One with leaves and the other in plain mesh.  This is my favorite project and yarn of the year!

I made the green and black infinity cowls above (aka Anna’s Cowl) for the older teen for Christmas.  Sadly, they are too feminine for her taste…gotta respect the teenager’s prerogative.  I’ll bet you have your own stories to tell, don’t you?   Good thing:  I love knitting ’em and are off to charity.

The russet mittens in Knit One Crochet Too Elfin Tweed is a shop sample knitted back in January that took me out of my comfort zone.

Pine Court designed by Shannon Squire is simple with precise instruction.  The cable insert kept it interesting to change up stockinette knitting.  I typically like my mittens snugly fit. But, I’ve come to appreciate these baggy-style of mittens. Lofty and comfy feel to the hands.  It kept me nice and toasty when I was photographing shop samples.

What project(s) and/or event(s) have gotten you out of your comfort zone? (Catching up on a week’s worth of posts that didn’t go out as scheduled…)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "The Beauty of Truth" (6)

  1. You always seem to have such lovely projects on your needles! It is always fun for me to browse your projects (and drool slightly)! Do you do any designing too?

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words. Knitting is my therapy and it has served me quite well…with much better result than traditional medicine, I think.

      Yes, I do design and love every bit of it. However, putting it in words is a an epic challenge. I’m taking an online course on pattern writing so I am more confident in saying what I want and for others to understand without pulling out their hair.

      • Yes, pattern writing can be challenging (as evidenced by the number of badldy written patterns that pop up). The series of posts I wrote about pattern constructing (“Anatomy of a Pattern”) were pretty popular. I write up my own patterns “properly” 🙂 if I think I may knit the project a second time; otherwise I leave them as abbreviated notes and sketches in my book. I can “read” my notes but I think most others would have a bit of difficulty. 🙂

  2. Everythng you are knitting just steps you up a notch in an already overwhelming expertness. I’ve never known anybody like you !!! Regarding your closing question; Answer is just about every one !

Leave a Reply

