A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Pedal Power


Say what?  This sustainable, pedal-powered un-knitting machine has my name all over it, doesn’t it??

A highly unusual Rube-Goldberg-like bicycle, designed to help recycle unwanted woolen clothes, unravels any garment item back to its pre-knitted form.   Created by Kingston University’s Imogen Hedges,  the un-knitter is one of this year’s best student-design curious contraptions, chosen by the British National Centre for Craft and Design,

While on the fascinating exploration, I stumbled onto the Fibershed‘s Cyclocarder–that can turn my backyard, community center, or farm into a human powered wool processing station.  Neat-o-fun!

I am happily be an un-knitter…at least through the holiday.  Or a music maker with a boombox like this one.

I wonder how I can get myself an un-spinner…Any idea?     What pedal-powered gadget would you ask for from Santa?   The quest continues…

For now, I am doing it the old fashion way.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Pedal Power" (8)

  1. A post chock-full with information, novelties, crazy ideas and innovative ways of looking at things – thank you, SARAH !

  2. I’ve often thought that elementary school classrooms would benefit from having pedals under the desks, perhaps connected to generators. Fidgety kids could pedal while they work and generate electricity at the same time. I guess that would get a little noisy…

    • I am so there with you, K. There ought to be some kind of lobbying movement advocating for these poor children! We did a charging-battery while walking project a couple of years ago and it was so much fun. Since I walk so much and often, imagine I could save a lot if I remember to do that. Now, just think up a way to spin and knit (not by me :D)

  3. Wow – amazingly creative and innovative!!!

  4. Debbe bloom said:

    Any chance of getting the pattern for that gorgeous,gorgeous shawl you were working on??? I would gladly,gladly pay for it! Thanks so much,debbe

  5. Sarah, where have you disappeared to ?

Leave a Reply

