A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Smell the Roses


With the whole Christmas rush,  husband’s two trips away from home this month, Solstice, Super New Moon around the corner, I am getting frayed & tired on many levels.  I feel under PRESSURE at this time of the year–from family, my fiber work, society in general.  It’s time to smell the roses…

the night air…and…

For one minute, walk outside

Stand there in silence,

Look up at the sky

And contemplate

How amazing life is.

Today, I decide to CHOOSE for me.

It is brave to follow my own path when everyone around me is following the norm.

But, the NORM does not fit or resonate with me.  It hurts me incredibly to lie to myself just to keep up appearances.

I am dropping the mask and say YES or NO as appropriately.  I will continue with my day as though this were any other time of year.

Do you feel a big weight lifted off you?  Okay, I’m right there…with you. Love to all ♥

Shown lace is Tulip Dream, modified from The Sock Report, a perfect heavenly match with this yarn…glorious 50% Silk/50% cashmere fingering weight yarn, bordered temporarily with Debbie Bliss Party Angel (Super Kid Mohair, Silk, and Metalized Polyester) so I may wear it while spinning up 2-ply yarn to finish.  My most-prized composition/knit of the year!  ♥¸.°´° ♥.¸¸.•°´°▪♥ღ♥

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Smell the Roses" (10)

  1. Absolutely stunning. Love the lace and the yarn combination you chose to knit this shawl in
    Wishing you a nice relaxing and happy day
    Jacqueline

    • Thank you, Jacqueline! I really love this one the most project I’ve done this year. My winner for sure.

      I am much better now that hubby is back home. We had a terrific time catching up, chatted, and stayed up to welcome 12.12.12. This morning, he brought me breakfast in bed and my favorite chai to kick-start the day. It’s glorious.

  2. So beautiful and serene, just what I needed today. And I love the way the statue models for you!

    • Thank you, Vera. I am so glad to hear it resonates with you as it did me.

      I love art and am lucky this town is full of ’em for scavager hunt 😀

  3. What an absolutely gorgeous shawl – thank you so much for sharing beauty and serenity, both visually and with words. I appreciate your fine talent.

  4. This is a crazy time of the year and I second your sentiments. The norm is convenient but not necessarily suitable for everyone. I hope you feel more balanced soon!

    That is a beautiful shawl (but frogging the party angel might be quite painful!).

    • Thanks, Kessa. And no worry about frogging the last part. I have quite a practice with frogging mohair and mohair blend altogether. With the silk and metallic thread, it’s quite easy to do with help from a sharp point pick or needle along side. I am nearly done spinning, then plying and knitting…but all will have to wait ’til the new year. As I said, at least I will be able to wear this for the time being.

  5. […] Nuff said.  I will make it a great day…after all, I have my husband and children home…me bundled up with my woolly knits…and smelling the roses! […]

  6. I’m all for dropping the mask. LOVELY knit here !!! Hey, did you make it to Oakland? I’ve been super duper busy, yesterday last gig of the year …

    Happy Christmas Sarah , to you and yours !!!

Leave a Reply

