A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Journey to Emerald City


One would have never known that there would be so many different theories and ideas about what The Wizard of Oz represents.

All of the interpretations have led to many different conclusions about the story.

Who would have ever thought that a story that seems obvious–written specifically for children–would have had so many hidden messages in it?

Whammo!!   Here I am , December!  It’s true what they say about time going faster the older you get.  I’m trying to keep up with all of you through your blogs and just doing that is getting harder and harder to manage.  So, let’s see…what’s going on?  Exactly a month ago, I fancied my way to Emerald City…“Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore,” “Lions, and tigers, and bears! Oh, my…” ♥.¸¸.•°´°▪♥ღ

After surmounting many obstacles (ripped back 24 rows of 4th repeat as I accidentally skipped Row 1 of the repeat)…encountering my “Scarecrow,” “Tin Woodman” and “Cowardly Lion” who were respectively searching for a “brain,” a “heart” and “courage”–I’ve finally reached the “Emerald city,” at last!

My quest for “illumination” is complete…after i-cord bind-off 400+ live stitches. “There is no place like home.

 It’s a good feeling.

Uniquely shaped Leafy Greensdesigned by Shannon Squire–is another holiday shop sample for Twisted, a very wearable shawl.

 Emerald Darkness of Dream-in-Color Starry is very challenging to photograph.  In person, the shawl is absolutely stunning and an utter joy to knit from top down.

The embossed leaves on the “private side” is exquisite.

I love this yarn, the pattern, and the finished project.

Both the yarn and shawl pattern are available at Twisted online or in person.   It took one and an half skeins for this wonderful shawl knit with awesome yarn.  If you are in the area, be sure to “test drive” the glitzy Leafy Greens shawl.  Another splendid holiday gift wonder for that special someone.  ♥¸.°´° ♥.¸¸.•°´°▪♥ღ

Pantone announces Emerald as the color for 2013.  “Lively. Radiant. Lush… A color of elegance and beauty that enhances our sense of well-being, balance and harmony.”

Do you like this choice? Does the Pantone color-of-the-year pick influence your purchases?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Journey to Emerald City" (8)

  1. Oh that jewelled green is just stunning ! I promise to keep up on your knitting sista, though I had been out for a while, I feel present again, and able to drink in all that you are experiencing. Here for you… write to me anytime… blog or email xxxxxxxxx

  2. The same was said about “Puff, the Magic Dragon.” Critics thought the song was about drugs. Paul Yarrow insisted that the lyrics were solely about kids.

    My sister and I had the complete collection of OZ books when we were small. Now another “OZ” movie is coming out.

    Love the color green. To me, it’s a peaceful color.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Pantone’s color of the year doesn’t sway me at all. I’m a purple gal through and through :-). You did a wonderful job on this and I would be interested to see how this would look in a “fall-ish” colorway…

    • Thank you, Tammy. I am with you. This is a beautiful green. But, my first instinct would be towards the fall “purple” hues. Who knows. In the new year…there may just be one LOL

  4. You have made a very relevant point – the eye can see and the ear can hear only what it knows – so gaining knowledge is opening up many new worlds – so off we go on that Road to Emerald City – keeping our mind open for the unexpected. Your projects are always a new world for me, that beutiful green shawl is a perfect example of it! Thank you, Sarah!

    • Awwww…thank you, my dear friend. Every time I think I am there…the world I seek keeps me humble. There are so much to see, to discover, to learn, to fall, and to be up again…fiber art and life, both. You keep me striving. Thank you for being here 😀

  5. Gorgeous shawl! I like the ‘colour of the year’ but feel that this kind of ‘special’ colour only looks nice when not everyone is wearing it, unlike black, white or greys.

  6. […] ago…the shop still hasn’t received it.  For close up details, more pictures here, here, here, a secret knit here/here, and the leg warmer in Malabrigo Twist to be finished with buttons […]

Leave a Reply

