A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Leisure Art


I hear folks complain about patterns being too complicated, often.  What it really meant was that they want to have a particular end result, but, don’t want to expend any energy learning new skills to get there.

If I don’t enjoy knitting things that are complicated, I don’t knit complicated things.

Another one I don’t quite get is why folks complain about patterns being boring.   Again, if it’s boring to knit, make it interesting or just stop knitting it.

No one is twisting my arm to knit.  I choose to do what’s fun.  It’s a free country.   I don’t feel obligated to finish something that gets boring or that’s hard on my hands to knit.  I can challenge myself, of course.  And do the mindless stuff when I need it.

Isn’t knitting/crafting a “Leisure Art?

The great thing about living in a free society is that everyone is entitled to express their opinion. Not all are so fortunate.

After all, life’s too short.   IMHO, it’s much more satisfying to enjoy than complain.  Loss and grief will find me sooner or later and make all my petty complaints seem like nothing.

Today, I opt to enjoy what I can while I can.  My complicated and boring knitting may become welcoming companions during times of great sadness.  If I make a choice to do something and feel a complaint starting to emerge, I may instead choose to think “how interesting!” Delight in those things I voluntarily choose to do.  And,  if I can’t, I will venture into something else.

Life wasn’t meant to be easy, my child, but take courage:  it can be delightful!~~George Bernard Shaw, excerpt from “Back to Methuselah”

The cardigan is a modified version of Vera Sanon‘s Elda Cardigan which I renamed “Jennifer Burgess Thompsonin memory of a friend.   It was a way to get me out of silent mourning.  (Here I added short-rows to neck to raise the back piece and crocheted edge all around for the finishing touch.)

The outcome speaks for itself.

Only wish my teen was happier to model it.

The original pattern is fabulous, well written, precise, with diagram and tutorial links.

One thing I love most about testing knitting for Vera is her willingness for modification to suit individual tester.  The yarn shown in sample above is MadelineTosh Tosh Sport.  Me?  I did mine in Premier Serenity Sock Weight.

I love the body drape that the 4-ply, fingering yarn provided and the “firm” textures in the vikkel braid/Estonian bands (fronts, neck, and cuffs) knitted in double-strands.

In winter days, cozy “caves(aka invisible pockets) are advantageous to keep my hands warm.  Naturally, I knitted a partial toe-up socks two-at-a-time and attached as I went two-third of the pockets to the body.

Normally, you don’t see me gravitate towards Deep Brown (or most brown hues.)  Not in million years.  But, this one caught my attention right away and took me out of my comfort zone.  See? Never say never.

Besides, who would argue with me for knitting up and having a new, hand-knit cardigan for under $20?   Without added modifications, five skeins would have been adequate.  With the changes, the cardigan used 5.75 skeins of the sock yarn or 1316 yards.  I highly recommend Vera‘s Elda Cardigan if you are in the market for a new wardrobe.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Leisure Art" (2)

  1. Que bonito trabajas, me encanta tejer, pero me falta mucho para trabajar con buena tención y muchas cosas más.
    Bendiciones, Eva.

  2. […] Elda‘s older sister Lepidoptera Hoodie (aka Freya) in MadelineTosh […]

Leave a Reply

