A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Simplicity


Simplicity took a load off my shoulders.  It gives me freedom from worry and anxiety.  Some day, my beliefs and values will finally be in line with what I am doing.

Today, I am thankful for the time I have with my children.

When I am not busy–let life’s distraction get in the way–I come to learn that I make better decisions when I stop, reflect, and wait for clear direction.  Hindsight has also shown me what I wanted is not always what I needed.

This isn’t the end of my struggle to find simplicity.  However, it is a great start ‘cuz I have identified and acknowledged the fact that this was a problem so I may now face it head-on whenever busyness once again tries to invade what is more important.

Striped Simplicitydesigned by Kat Buckspan as a part of Twisted’s 2012 Hot Holiday Knits! –is a simple design, great for those looking to move beyond simple rectangles.

An occasional slip-stitch keeps the design interesting and more advanced knitters focused.  The silk, merino, and bamboo yarn creates a soft, buttery fabric with amazing drape and slight sheen.  Who can resist Mirasol Yarn Nuna yarn????   This yarn literally glows due to the fiber content and the beautiful colorway (1020 Blue & 1013 Espresso.)  Pretty and yummy yarn.  Absolutely wonderful!

I cast on the cowl/infinity scarf just before attending the new season kick-off concert by Central Oregon Symphony on Monday so I could have something to occupy my fingers…yes, even in the dark.

Striped Simplicity, just as it’s named, very simple knit.  Well written instruction.  Once first round is set up, I didn’t have to count or use marker at all.  Can a 4-row-repeat pattern look this good?!  Another fabulous one-day project.  I highly recommend it. You’ll need two hanks of brown (Main Color) and one of blue (Contrast Color) for this 10″ by 55″ infinity scarf/cowl.

The versatile scarf, especially the edges, had serious rolls before wash.  Once washed and laid on a blocking mat, most of the rolls vanished.

If you happen to be in Portland area, be sure to “test drive” this luscious shop sample at Twisted, pick up the pattern and yarn while you’re there to make your very own.

It did take a little longer than anticipated to knit up due to pumpkin patch trip to D.D. Ranch yesterday with my boy and friends.

The finishing was out of this world.  It made it very difficult for me to send it off, the only undesirable con of knitting shop samples, indeed.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Leave a Reply

