A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

One for the Books


Meet Joe Queenan, a columnist at The Wall Street Journal, one of my inspirations. He started reading when he was 7 years old. Fifty-five years later, he has read 6,128 books. He “hopes to get through another 2,137 books before he dies.

Here is a fascinating Wall Street Journal article titled My 6,128 Favorite Books which should be read in its entirety.  The article was adapted from Queenan’s book titled One for the Books which will be published this week. ♥.¸¸.•°´°▪♥ღ

“Books as physical objects matter to me, because they evoke the past. A Métro ticket falls out of a book I bought 40 years ago, and I am transported back to the Rue Saint-Jacques on Sept. 12, 1972, where I am waiting for someone named Annie LeCombe. A telephone message from a friend who died too young falls out of a book, and I find myself back in the Chateau Marmont on a balmy September day in 1995. A note I scribbled to myself in “Homage to Catalonia” in 1973 when I was in Granada reminds me to learn Spanish, which I have not yet done, and to go back to Granada.

None of this will work with a Kindle.  People who need to possess the physical copy of a book, not merely an electronic version, believe that the objects themselves are sacred. Some people may find this attitude baffling, arguing that books are merely objects that take up space. This is true, but so are Prague and your kids and the Sistine Chapel. Think it through, bozos.“~~Joe Queenan, My 6,128 Favorite Books

I am exactly that…a person who needs to possess physical copy of a book–see it, feel it, and smell it.  How about you?  A paper or electronic form?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "One for the Books" (1)

  1. […] One for the Books (handstitch.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

