A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Testing the Boundaries


At times, it seems to be exactly what I need.  Boundaries help me distinguish my property so that I may take care of it.  They help me “guard my heart with all diligence.”

I need to keep things that will nurture me inside my fences and keep things that will harm me outside.

In short, boundaries help me keep the good in and the bad out.

They guard my treasures so that people will not steal them.

They keep the pearls inside and the pigs outside.

In the past couple of years, I wanted to stretch my boundaries and build my skill set.

I wanted to push myself and try techniques I’ve never attempted or have been reluctant to try…from spinning, to yarn and fleece dyeing, needle and nuno felting, Shibori felting, steeking, illusion-knitting, brioche knitting, swing/jazz knitting,  designing, African flower crochet…and most recently, re-engineering/re-writing a cardigan.

In mid-August, I started Turn of the Glass using MadelineTosh Pashmina in Baltic.

It took 8 days from start-to-finish

and writing out instructions for Size 34 so my friend Sami may follow along.  (She ended up opting out as her hands were bothering her, plus she didn’t have her dream yarns to knit one like mine.)

The next one served as test-editing tool for sizing up the pattern to a Size 42 for my dear friend Kristin.  I reclaimed a bag of Aarlan Royal Tweed–a 70% Wool/39% yarn–from a sweater my mother-in-law started in early 90’s.  (Colors are richer, deeper as shown in modeled photos.)

Initially, I intended to just finish the remaining quarter of a sleeve up and gift it back to her as a Christmas present.   Hmmmm…I thought “Why?”  There must be a good reason why she didn’t finish it all these years and passed the unfinished pieces to me.  Being the most fashion-forward fashionista that my mother-in-law is, I am positively certain that she would not be thrilled to see the finished pullover under her Christmas tree.  Not one bit!

So off it went the extreme makeover.  What do you think?  Would she like the transformation?

It took me longer to decide on the horn buttons than knitting up the sweater.  Though they cost more than the yarn itself, I do love ’em on the cardigan.

By the way, if you have these Royal Tweed yarn in your stash, get rid of ’em or be ready to splice together breaking strands…often!

How have I grown in the two years?  Oh so many ways!

My gauge is more accurate and consistent throughout my projects.

I’m less fearful and more willing to try new designs and techniques.

I’m more capable of bringing design ideas to fruition.

I have more hands-on experience with mistakes to relate to my knitting peeps–which sounds really stupid, I know.

I can only relate what I know and be able to say “Oh yeah, I’ve done that.  I fixed it by doing this.” It comes a LONG way, personally.

Have you stretched your boundaries or built your knitting (or hobby you are in) skills through an unexpected outlet? 

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Testing the Boundaries" (2)

  1. I’m soooooooo IMPRESSED with your cardigan !!! I also thought you were just born a fearless pro knitter… ya mean you had to work to get that way 😉 It shows… it all shows. I love the sweater, I love you (you look so pretty in it !) and I love this post ! THank you !

    I will try to catch up with the rest you’ve posted up to date very soon, but for now, I just wanted to jump up and down with you and say ‘woohoo !’ I so wish we could knit and drink tea together. xxxxxx

    • You are just so funny, sista!!! I am a “work-in-progress!” Fall has set in and so is my older one’s performances. Hubby left yesterday for Arizona yet for another workshop :0( He knows how much I disliked it so he chose to tell me only the day before about this trip.. I have trucking along….in this chaotic life and work to find my daily balance. Miss ya lots! I am so ready to go visit the Bay Area…I’ll let you know when I do for sure, Jen. We will have a blast over tea, knitting, spinning, dyeing…Love you my dear sista.

Leave a Reply

