A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Every Second


Every second that I live, I am never going to get back.

I am never going to get to change what I said, didn’t say, did, or didn’t do.

Live how I want to live.

Act how I want to be remembered ‘cuz I never know how long or short I am going to be here.

Do it today for tomorrow, I can never tell what happen!  Just do it!

Blessed are the weird folks–poets, misfits, writers, mystics, painters, troubadours–for they teach me to see the world through different eyes. ♥

One of the greatest diseases of the human race is doubt and fear.  That is not to disregard other diseases, but, doubt and fear rob more people of more life than all the diseases of the world put together. Great minds often spend the greater part of their lives failing but their ability to take something out of the failure has ultimately created the world I live in.

Everything I would ever need to be prosperous, successful, and powerful is within me.

Failure could be a wonderful catalyst for change ‘cuz it has the potential to make me a wiser, better, and smarter person.

All I need do is to step out of my comfort zone and deal with the challenge.

That’s what I did last month with my knitting–especially with the second faux fair-isle one–testing out another one of Anne Lernout’s interesting construction, fun design piece as shown in one of her samples below

I challenged myself to step out of my comfort zone by 1) casting on both shoulders, two-at-a-time to keep changes symmetrical at best, 2) by re-skeining each ball to keep color repeats on each same–that I discovered was impossible with  my irregular stitch tension, 3) randomly alternating different colorways and adding garter rows to get a color to “pop,” and 4) adding a buttonhole on outside and inside bands for closures.

Keeping ‘em symmetrical in both colorways and garter-rows took additional effort.  It slowed down the speed in an epic way.  To give you an idea as to how much time it added to the second version…Blue Lagoon was knitted up in 4 days (spread over a 2-week duration.)

The faux fair-isle one took a week to accomplish.  Not sure if I would do that again…but, I must say, I am quite pleased with the effect.

What do you think?  Which one of the Amandine cardigans do you like best?  The pattern is available for purchase.  Be sure to swing over to Anne’s blog and see a series of Amandine and Amande for yourself.

Today, I choose to boost my motivation!  This may be my chance to finally live my dreams.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Every Second" (3)

  1. Elizabeth Souza said:

    You do great work! I love the sweaters and in addition to being an interesting design it falls well on the body.

  2. If nothing else, I will remember you for your love of your family, your great photographic skills, your fearlessness and your presentation of the most beautiful colors.

  3. Gawd, just to think about how every second we live is gone. Well, well spent then. like pennies into the water… throw with zeal ! So, your cardigans are really beautiful. YOu ask which one is favorite? I think the blue. I love the quietness of solids, or varigated solids. 🙂
    I’m glad you’re back !

Leave a Reply

