A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Days Like this


I can’t really see where I am going.

I have just enough of the road in front of me–and through my side mirror–to know I’m probably still on the road.

If I drive slowly and keep my headlamps lowered, I’ll still get where I was going.

Sometimes crafting–knitting, crocheting, sewing–is like driving through fog.

I much rather move through the fear rather than around it.

It help me forget the upcoming cold, windy, wet, dark winter that seems to go on forever.

There’s rarely a benefit to charging into a situation trying to control the outcome.

There’s a time and place, but, there aren’t many places and rarely a time.

At the root of most of my disasters was a deep fear, masquerading as something else.

Fear rarely names itself.  Instead, it points fingers.  It slings spin.  It runs for the hills.  What am I afraid of?  Losing my pride?  I am a culture that hide my fear.  When I hide, I don’t connect.  I shoot myself in the foot ‘cuz what I want most is security.  Security comes through connection.  The long way around will never change my character.

So today, I choose to be strong.  I will face my fear…instead of faking my way through it.  I won’t run.  I just show up.

I will stand here with both hands in my pockets and live in the fear.

I will move through my fear instead of around it. I will find grace to help with my every lonely need.

In a brief fit of inspiration one summer day–a good way to recharge the batteries–I whipped up these baskets in no time

…only took a couple hours to crochet up–to hold balls of yarn for knitting two socks at a time or a fair-isle project.

It turned itself into kinda an art piece…and looks nice. Don’t you think?

Would you squeal like a pig to find it under the Christmas tree this holiday season?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Days Like this" (1)

  1. That is adorable! I wish my Santa knew how to do that!

Leave a Reply

