A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Turn of the Glass


Have you seen this simple, bottom-up shapely cardigan without shaping?

In between designing projects, I decided to knit this cardigan but from top-down, raglan-sleeve, and seamless style. It’s designed by Kathleen Dame for Knitty’s Winter 2011 collection, a complimentary pattern.  Instead of a heavy DK-weight yarn the pattern calls for, I am using MadelineTosh Pashmina in my stash for a while.

It isn’t a big different.  My pre-wash gauge is 25 stitches and 38 rows over 4″–in a 5″ square and Size 5 needles–a 13.63% more stitches and 26.67% more rows than the DK pattern’s.

Negative ease before washing and blocking was 0.75″ to either side of the swatch.

After wash and slight set of steam-blocking, the only change was the negative ease–now 0.5″ to other side of the swatch.

I like how it feels and looks.   Baltic is such a pretty teal color (deeper hues than pictured.)

Technically, to make life easy, I may follow the design instruction for Medium to achieve Adult Small to fit me.  But, no.  Not me.  Like most thing in life, I like a good challenge.  It’s time to number-crunchin’, re-write the pattern to knit from the neck instead of the hem.

Two of my local knit-up peeps will be joining me.  So, I’ll share our projects with you as we go along.  There will be no pressure, contest deadline, or anything…just nice comfortable virtual couches and work at your own pace.  Feel free to knit along if it pleases you, give me a shout-out, and make comments.  I’d love to see pictures if you do!  For me, it’s a great motivator. 

For starter, do a 5 to 6″ swatch in stockinette and one in cable pattern.  Use Chart B for your cable swatch. Odd-number row in this pattern is Purl (private side) and even-number row is Knit (public side where people admire your fine hand-knit) of the fabric.  It means you read 1) from left to right of the charts on Rows 1 and 3 and 2) from right to left on Rows 2 and 4.

I was surprised at how easy the faux-cable pattern was once I got going!  I don’t know what I thought it was going to be like, but, it’s definitely a cinch!  I’m going to work on the math heavily over the weekend so I can get you all some good progress pictures and cast-on details too.

It’s been a very productive week. One of two design projects, hot off the needles.

I always have a motive for feeling and acting the way I do, a reason based on fulfilling my needs.

The reason may or may not be misguided, intolerant, negative, exaggerating, illogical, shortsighted, mistaken or inconsiderate.

But, it’s my best shot at reasoning in this moment in time.   Just is.♥

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Turn of the Glass" (3)

  1. ONe day I will understand ‘ease’ , and how to gauge for it, measure it, understand it. It is something that only now, this minute (after reading your post) that I feel … is … *duh!!!* … essential ! Okay, so what else is that your yarn is soooo beautiful. You really have the best yarn in the universe. You deserve it too ! You;re such an inspiration to me, and offer me ballast too. xxxxx

  2. […] much as I like the warm days and knitting (with Three Sisters my […]

  3. […] mid-August, I started Turn of the Glass using MadelineTosh Pashmina in […]

Leave a Reply

