A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Door of Perception


What is or is not?  Lately, I’ve been challenged to think about the idea of how what I know affects the way I see things.

If seeing came before knowing, how would that change what I thought about what I was seeing?

Confusing?  Stay with me here.  Imagine Garcia Lopez de Cardenas, a Spanish conquistador, riding his horse around Colorado River in 1540 and come about this immense hollowed pit–a gigantuous cavity now known as the Grand Canyon–never knew of its existence.

How amazing was his unearthing experience.  Did his heart skip several beats?  Did the conquistador see a worthless desert wasteland, nothing more than a barrier to political expansion?  Or, did he foresee the opposite extreme–the modern view tends toward the romantic, reveling in what we today perceive as the remarkable spirituality of the gorge?  Did he freak out that the Spaniards back home–not even friends or family–would believe his startling impressive discovery?.

Have I been deprived of truly experiencing the Grand Canyon or other stupefying sight?  What about my everyday encounters–things that I know or think I know?

Today, I dare  to approach life–to see people and things–leaving behind my inkling of what something should be.  I challenge myself to simply experience life for what it is.

What makes your heart skipped a beat today?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Door of Perception" (3)

  1. Nice post Sarah.. Fair point you drove here, it does pay to stop and see 🙂

    • Thanks, Vinay. It’s so easy to say to stop and just “be.” It’s a constant dilemma I find myself in and am working through it.

      • True, very rightly stated, its pretty hard to keep doing it.. Probably the reason why most people don’t do it.. But then I guess thats something which separates a few from the herd 😉

Leave a Reply

