A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

I love


sleeping in today.  Terrific…until 15 minutes before 10.  It’s the Pet Parade,

started at 10 a.m.!

in downtown Bend.

Why wasn’t I given more notice?

No matter.

The parade is when animal lovers lavish much fussy effort

and spend beaucoup bucks to prove the old adage

that pets look like their owners.

This usually involves owners and pets dressing alike.

A Walk for animals.

Young

old

able-body

and physical-challenged

grabbed their furry family members,

laced up,

and got ready

for their marching position in the Bend Pet Parade.

A beloved tradition,

this community event allows folks–with kids dressed up in costumes

ranging from clowns

to superheros

to bunnies

to princesses

–to parade with their dogs,

ducks,

chickens,

turtles,

horses,

ponies,

llamas,

cows,

stuff pets, (Snake, lizard, and worms were too spotted apparently…)

and their odds

and ends,

in kooky costumes,

decking out strollers as parade floats

and maybe doing a cool pet trick or two.

It’s not unusual to see pets in top hats, opera capes, tiaras, wedding dresses, clown suits, or four-legged leprechauns.  Unicycle was huge this year.

Like most costumed events in Central Oregon, store-bought costumes are the most prevalent.

Pet costumes are all the rage today.

Next year, I may dress my pets up as anything from Deadmou5

to a firefighter.

Yet,  handmade costumes are my favorites.

These entrants throw caution to the wind and give free expression to their wildest fantasies.

Each year, there is usually a contestant or two that takes their idea to a hugely entertaining new level.

It’s well worth the free admission.

Boy, was it one for the dogs!

You could find just about any furry friend you can imagine from a 225 pounds

to a three-pounder.

We like to have a blast while doing it…even it’s a small town production.

I love … the secret animal war these dogs have with uninvited critters in the march.

I love … that I can teach an old pet new tricks (with treats, of course.)

I love…the finale to punctuate a summer’s day.

I love … a wholesome, homemade Tabouli salad

and catching up with friends

after a delightful small-town parade

at our usual spot in past few years

in the grassy field of Juniper Elementary School

enjoying our Fourth of July tradition

creating more heartfelt memories.

I love … curling up into my sleeping bag with my Nikon D3100 on hand to snap some action shots.

I love…that my 11-year-old talks to hubby so much about his terrific day of life

and wrestled for no rimmed reason.

I love …quiet woods in summer.

I love …A secret.   And an irreverent laugh.

I love…the spectacular firework

and its grand finale

better than the year before.

I love…that I could go on and on with this post.

What a beautiful day here in Bend!!

It’s going to be a grand summer.

Hope your day’s full of family,

friends,

good health,

and great food!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "I love" (2)

  1. Next year, we’re attending the pet parade for sure. Thanks again for sharing all those terrific photos.

  2. Great photos! I almost think I was there with you… 🙂

Leave a Reply

