A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


There is a direct correlation between the level of happiness in my life and the amount of silliness I allow into it.  I know.  Really.  I do know!   I’ve done studies LOL.

First day here at Black Sheep Gathering (aka BSG)

is too, too, too magical

and fun

for everyone!

Everywhere I turned,

I was surrounded by COLOR…

in yarns

fibers

vintage

jewelry

and notions

spinning wheels

drop spindles

Wish I had gotten to Textiles a Mano’s booth sooner


to get me one of these unique musical miniatures.  A lady just minutes before me hoarded all that were for sale.  Each one actually spins when wound up.  **Sigh**

It’s an incredible tactile experience too since I just had to feel everything I was admiring.  The sock machine seems to be prettier and more elaborate each time I see one.

WOW!  Ed Jenkins has done it again with his Turkish spindles.  Not only does he do his own creative geometrical shapes, Ed free hands each design and uses Anglo-Saxon runes, Linear B, a pre-Greek syllabary with ideograms (in Pacific Northwest/Mediterranean woods only.)  It’s on my Christmas wishlist should you heart to get me something this year 😀

One of the “must-see” on my list was the Sheep to Shawl competition.

It was incredibly amazing this year.

Two fabulous teams.

Each finished a spectacular shawl.


Both won awesome prizes.  The Scattered Flock took home a blue ribbon and a humongous basket of luxury fibers donated by Ashland Bay.  Team TAM Caliente walked away with a red ribbon and a two-day stay at Huckleberry Cottage on Oregon Coast generously donated by Lois Olund of Bellwether Wool!  Start planning for next year, spinners and weavers.

Teams have to do a fair amount of preparation ahead of time.  The warp’s spun, the loom dressed, and brought to the event ready to be woven.

At the contest, a washed fleece is carded, spun–2 ply is required–and the shawl woven.

Teams have to be formed by folks who may work together on the project including preparation and execution.

Whether you all live near each other–or not–is all up to you.

Regardless, the team is formed well in advance as there is a lot to do.

Though it wasn’t stated in the application, one has to be a pretty fast spinner and weaver in order to be competitive.

Spinning groups and guilds often form teams.  If you have one or more of these in your area, check to see if a team may be formed.  Hope to see and cheer for your team here next year 😀  (Don’t you just love Jo‘s tattoo?!)

Right now I’m putting together a BSG minimal purchase list for the last day of show. The cute little felted cat toy–stuffed with catnip–was by Fox Hollow Farm & Fiber.

Believe me, any non-spinning knitter will be thoroughly satisfied with the multitude of yarn and notion choices at BSG.

I love catching up with my friend Lori Lawson of Capistrano Fiber Arts Studio and seeing first-hand her gorgeous fiber choices.  Lori is a fabulous knitter, crocheter, felter, dyer, spinner, and accomplished wearable artist.  On Lori’s left is her booth-mate and good friend Miryha Runnerstrom of Blarney Yarn.

Here is Miryha’s Fiber Art Division winning handspun, hand-dyed entry.   I didn’t have to look at the tag to know it was hers.

BSG is full of fiber arts and inspiration.  I have barely “scratched the surface.”  More highlights to come as I sorted out over 400 photographs taken during the 3-day event, which didn’t even cover everything offered.

Wishing your weekend is off to a good start!  How is the humid weather affecting you?

It’s a bit chilly here in the valley.   So, there was ample opportunity to wear handspun swag…some absolutely pretty shawls and shawlettes spotted here at the fairgrounds.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Land of Fiber Arts and Inspiration" (2)

  1. […] I think of my beautiful, colorful, arty friend Lori Lawson (on the left, which I mentioned in my last post.) […]

  2. […] had a costume show with Shetlands dressed up. Makes for a fun evening.  (Showcased below is one of this year’s Sheep-to-Shawl winners– a ravishing shawl worn by Laura aka […]

Leave a Reply

