A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Summertime


Green smoothie time.  Thick, creamy, and delicious.  Mix up a perfect meal or snack in less than 5 minutes.   It is a smash hit even among the kids…the creamiest, yummiest treat.

Avocado is rich in magnesium that reduces risk of excess belly fat, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and high blood sugar.  The avocado flavor is very light and blends well with fruit, veggies, yogurt, coconut milk or water, honey, and nuts.  I typically adapt this to what I have on hand.

It provides an unbelievably smooth, creamy background for flavors of your choice.  Very filling.  It reminds me of a milkshake.  Absolutely divine!!

INGREDIENT

  • 1 ripe avocado with seed
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 C blueberries
  • 1/2C frozen mixed berries

DIRECTION:  Fill the 16-oz blender with coconut water and purée until smooth.  If using all fresh berries, add a few ice cubes and blend to smooth.  If you have a sweet tooth, add some honey and/or vanilla extract.

YUM YUM YUM.   It’s amazing and cheap to make.  Did I mention amazing?  ♥   This one is for my dad…a special time to honor and render my earnest thanks.  I miss you so much.   Happy Father’s Day to my honey and all the dads in the world!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Summertime" (7)

  1. Mouth-watering post! Yum recipe!

  2. What a perfect refreshment on a hot summer day. I’m bookmarking this one.

    • Avocado takes on other flavors, period. It’s a daily breakfast for Brazilians–who have the prettiest skin I’ve seen. What’s great about this…it’s very healthy for you. I don’t add any sweet additive as I usually use the well-ripen banana. It’s very sweet for my palette. But, I do know many folks like to add honey, sugar, stevia… 😀

  3. I will definitely try this. Thanks for sharing the recipe! (I have had – and loved- Brazilian avocado ice cream … yummy!)

  4. Sarah — funny, I have also been doing daily green smoothies for a couple of months. Got a book called Green For Life and am seeing if it will make a difference. I’m using a lot of greens like spinach, arugula, kale, etc. in with my fruits. So good to see you at Black Sheep. You were so sweet to bring me the orchid. I know right where I’m going to put it when I get home.

  5. Hello ! I love avocados !!! Never thought to mix with berries and bananas, how great. I am wondering , you’re pretty quiet last few days. I am about to host a massive family reunion in one week, and then be out of the game myself for a week following, so well, I hope I chat with you one of these days. I recall you mentioned going to California in July, and well, if it weren’t for this big family reunion, I’d be off hunting you down. Take care and talk soon.

Leave a Reply

