A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


do you grab one and start tearing it?  I do with mint, sage, lavender, thyme, basil, tarragon, oregano….and sniff the fingers.

Leaves evoke feelings of spring and summer, but, this scarf would make a great accessory for any time of the year.

The gauge is not critical.  I simply adjust the needle size to suite my yarn and achieve the size and look I prefer.  The first one in Caron SPA was worked–two at a time–in two identical halves using moebius cast on (one form of provisional cast on,) then grafted the cast-on edges together–knit to knit, purl to purl–to make the seam as invisible as possible.

The joint wasn’t as clean as I would have liked. Since it’s a test for  Grace Mcewen aka KnitchicGrace, I followed the instructions–both written and charted forms–as written.  Applying “Kill the Acrylic” blocking technique was the right call for this 8″ by 37″ bamboo scarf.  The drapey, silky result is beautiful.  It’s just the thing for my friend Myria.

A few notes may help others choosing to work with non-wool fiber:
1) Absolutely Do NOT slip first stitch of each row! (Just take my word on this particular design…but, go ahead if you like to know the reason why…at your own risk. :D)
2) Keep edge stitches loose.
3) Keep Last three decreasing rows loose.
4) Drop stitches on both ends first before grafting ‘em together, washing, or blocking.

Second scarf is completely seamless, with no grafting necessary.  When I got done with the first half, simple turn my work around and start knitting the second half.

This worked a thousand times better.  It is the only way I do provisional cast on and joining two identical pieces together (when not test-knitting or working a shop sample.)

The Lacy Vine  explore what happens to the edges of knitting when yarnovers and decreases are offset.

The Leaf Scarf expands and contracts, emphasized by a leaf motif with cables “grow” up the middle.

This scarf is fun to knit and stitches dropped as you watch it take on a life of its own!

I love the sculptural, architectural feel to the second take in Red Heart Boutique Treasure,  Mosaic colorway, using Size Needles 10.5.

The scarf is designed more as an ascot-length, neckerchief-type scarf than what most people think of for knitted scarves these days.  The second one–12″ by 48″–is a foot longer than specs.  Model photos have to wait…I’ll be busy working up swatches for next batch of shop samples and a test knit.

Which is your favorite?  Drapey solid–the former?  Or textural variegated–the latter?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "When Walking Past a Leaf" (6)

  1. I like the green color of the material in your first three photos, blending in with nature.

    • Yes, blending is great. However, I love the textural piece. They knit up quickly so I’m certain I will get the best of both worlds from my third 😀

  2. I love the second one. Dropped stitches are fun! And the whole provisional cast on/knit the other direction sounds way better to me than grafting. Was there a jog at the turnaround?

    • I love the scriptural, springy look of the second one too.

      If you look at the picture where I had butterfly pins, it where the provisional cast on was. I messed up a little on the stitch so it’s more messy than it would have been. I wouldn’t say a “jog” but for the perfectionist, you will spot a tint of difference. Most often, when I point it out to folks, they just have a “lost” look. The key for totally seamless: 1) make sure you reverse any “mirroring” motif when knitting the 2nd half. 2) work a purl or non-pattern row/round when starting the 2nd half.

  3. The second — and the dropped stitches especially.

  4. Tammy said:

    I can’t choose, I love them both!

Leave a Reply

