A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Gentle Lace


We kept flirting with cooler weather here for awhile, but the plants don’t lie. It’s no doubt spring time.

This project should not have taken me as long as it did.  House-cleaning has definitely taken over my craft time, but, I have indeed been knitting a few minutes here and there.  Cool weather and crazy rains last week made it perfect crafting week.   I couldn’t think of a better time to pick up and finish the cardigan.  The piece is hard to put down once I am deep into it.  Sleeves (two-at-a-time) were done in a day (last Monday.)

Hood finished next day (and was blocked separately, twice.)

The mesh pattern is fun to knit.  The sweater progressed quickly–except for the border picked up and worked last–which seemed to take forever! The garter-edging kicked my hiney.   It took over two days to wrap up just ‘cuz my poor fingers needed a break from major cramping.   I strongly recommend using a 60” or two 40” circular needles for the task.  Plus you may try the whole thing on to make sure the border isn’t out of proportion after knitting one round…something that looked wavy (at least during first phase of blocking.)

After second blocking and fabric manipulation, I love the result.  PHEW!  Between you and I, it did give me a good scare…I hate the thought of ripping out the border and knit it over again.  For blocking tips, read my previous post here.

Let me tell you, my friend.  I followed the directions on the  cardigan to the T with the few exception noted above.   I ignored that niggling voice in the back of my head that said ‘the border is gonna be too much and floppy.’   I ignored it so hard that I didn’t question.   I trusted it completely as there was no errata published on the designer’s or Ravelry site.  When I followed the pick-up directions, I got 491 border-stitches.  Personally, picking up 3 stitches off 4 rows for garter-border would be much better…instead of 2 stitches off 3 rows as pattern instructed.

If you didn’t catch from teaser pictures in my last few posts, it’s Laika from Little Red in the City (Page 122) by Ysolda Teague.  An easy but lovely simple lace pattern with inclusive button band.  The perfect fit, seamless Laika will add a touch of elegance to your wardrobe and wrap you in CHIC in no time at all.  Wear it open for a little warmth in the evening or buttoned over a skirt or jeans, Laika will create a distinctive versatile outfit.  It is quicker going than I’d expected it to be because of the lace.  Sewing up 20 gorgeous shell-buttons is another story…well worth it, I promise.

This medium-size cardigan is worked from the neck down with  added waist definition and shape.  You may try it on as you make it and, if needed, adjust the garment to your own proportions.   Since mine is a shop sample, I had to follow the instruction as written with the exception of 1) slipping first stitch of every row, 2) closing up gap before a buttonhole by knitting the stitch before the gap and a stitch below next stitch together, and 3) Correction–2nd pattern row for body–work established pattern to 1 st before marker, k1, slm, k2, work established pattern to 2 sts before marker, k2, slm, k1, work in pattern to end.

Like music, knitting truly is a universal language.   Knitting lace is like hearing music.  As I knit, my little world becomes quiet.  It may seam tedious, the constant counting–yo, s1, k2tog, psso, yo, k3 etc.–not only rhythmic, it kept things interesting and made  a soothing mobile project to work on.  All in all, Laika is a wonderful,  easy-to-memorize pattern.  The laced cardigan is perfect for a light layer to chase the chill away in summer–if the day is not hot or it becomes cool in the evening or early morning

Laika will sure grace your favorite cami or get glamorous over a dress and lets you enjoy your glorious sleeveless wardrobe in style.  This jumper offers real laced comfort on a brisk high-desert day.

When the body was done, the sweater looked small.  Have faith.  Once the border was added and after blocking, it easily came out to the correct sizing. Yeah, the magic of blocking.  This sample will be at the store tomorrow or latest Thursday.   Be sure to stop by and test-drive it for size if you are in the Portland area.  Both the book and MadelineTosh Merino Light yarn in variety of colors are available for purchase.  Mine weighs 393 grams (or 1651 yards) before buttons.  You will need four hanks for a 34-36″ bust-size sweater.  Alternatively, you may make do with three hanks of MadelineTosh Merino Light if you were to knit the garter-border with a DK yarn.  I can’t wait to knit mine up to wear.  It’s going to be my next summer sweater!

Love the pattern–surprisingly easy and fun to create and great to wear! Love the yarn in Logwood colorway–super soft and luscious!  This has been one of my favorite knits, this year. ♥

Here is a great tip I came across today:  Buying all the needles, stitch holders and stitch markers at one time can be costly. A great way is to simply just buy what your pattern calls for.  Make sure you are getting the best you can afford.  Eventually, just like me, you’ll have a collection of everything you need and some pretty nifty scarves, hats, gloves, sweaters and socks!  Knitting lace can be a fun, relaxing hobby as you do it.  Many knitters are intimidated by lace, but–with a little guidance and practice–anyone may create beautiful pieces, like this cardigan.

What is your relaxing hobby?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Gentle Lace" (7)

  1. Are you posting these on Pinterest?

  2. Just lovely ! I think I’m starting to *get you* just a little . (and that’s a lot !) You knit these perfect shop samples up professionally for shop owners, for yarn and needles ! You certainly have got that nailed !!! The thing is, being such a pro as yourself, you must resist your own sense of honed logic, and to follow the recipe may prove frustrating when it goes against what your better skill, and sometimes you must settle for second best ? But do as you do , and point out to us just how the pattern was a challenge how you would have done it differently, then not all is given away, you get to learn the lesson, and teach us too ! One of the Dalai Llama’s Rules For Life : ” When you lose, do not lose the lesson. ” Meaning, obviously ( we know he secretly knits too) “when you must give the sweater back to the shop, keep the keener sense of pattern for yourself ! ” 🙂

    You are looking better and better, and seemingly more confident with each post. How can this be? Life is good !

  3. […] from trinity lace stitch as seen in my recent shop sample cardigan […]

Leave a Reply

