A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Gift of Art


Cheap and chic.

Mission of a Mixed-media artist is to hunt, gather, and hoard…and humming Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle.

How does one reconcile that work with a yearning to live a more simple life and honor the environment?

While the effects of pollution, overcrowded landfills, global warming, and greenhouse gases have on the environment must be taught by schools, parents also have a duty to educate their children by example. The first step for me is to return to a smaller home with a self-sustaining (almost) landscape.

I do not have to have a grass lawn but envision a vegetable garden. Barbara Kingsolver’s book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle did get me thinking…

Remember when green was just another chip in the color wheel?  The color of money and a healthy salad? Now, green mixes with red and blue states to color politics.  Upcycle artists take something of little value–such as empty bottles, Lids, old clothes, fabrics, broken beads, newspaper, Chocolate wrappers etc. etc.–and increase its value exponentially through artistic expression.

My friend Terri Cumbie–owner of Dudley’s Bookshop Cafe–magically turned dryer sheets, diaper wipes (new and not used in this case,) old lace tablecloth, worn bed sheet, buttons, wires, acrylic paint, yarn and paper scraps…into a fantastic piece of wall art. ♥

What’s your GREEN idea?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Gift of Art" (3)

  1. I love, love , love that you turn Hunt, gather, and hoard into Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle. To me, recycling goes beyond the stuff.. because I must reinvent myself to suit the environment often (I think this is natural to have one’s self-image influenced by surroundings… think of the chameleon !) . In order to do this… REFINING AND REINVENTING from a more philosophical aspect is a part of being ‘green’ to me. So, where as hunting and hoarding are the labor, and re-use and recycle are the creative, then refining and reinventing are the mental/spiritual. 🙂 How’s that?

  2. […] Pretty dramatic visual, I imagine, when sunlight strikes…wonder if they sing when the wind blows?  A great use of all those wine bottles I have stored…string corks between bottles.  Terrific Green idea.  Wish I’ve thought of it last year…I finally let my enormous collection go to recycling dump.   I love all the different labels and shapes from wines hubby consumes from all over the world.  Just to show you how I am obsessed with ART. […]

Leave a Reply

