A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Expect the Unexpected


Knitting is a journey. While it’s ultimately about a lace shawl, a sweater, a pair of socks or mittens…and tens of thousands of stitches I will look to knit, purl, yarn-over, increase, and decrease, in reality, it’s much more than that.

It simply starts with the decision to knit.

Then there is the selecting pattern and yarn process, which to me is really about making a commitment…a commitment to knit and get to cast-on.

Then there is gauge tension, textural, and drape preference. For many, this is where the true challenge of knitting a fitting and appealing garment lies as it requires commitment that extends far beyond a single day.

Finally there is the finishing day; the point where I ideally realize the fruits of my labors and go for it all.

For some, the goal is a world record. For others, it’s about simply finishing and proving to ourselves and others that We did It.  Or in my case, often it’s a vehicle to de-stress.  No matter what the personal goal may be, we all have one common objective associated with our respective knitting journeys and that is to cross the finish line–casting off, seaming where applicable, and blocking.

In order to make it across the finish line, I spend countless hours knitting and preparing–both mentally and physically–for the challenge of cast-on day. I know what to expect from myself in order to successfully complete the journey–from start to finish and how long it would take.

However, as much as I like to think that I know what will await me on the final day, in reality, it is in many ways a great unknown. While I have prepared for many varying scenarios I may encounter–tension, fit, misinterpreting instruction, dropping stitches, distraction…the truth of the matter is that when it comes to the finishing day, I must also be ready to expect the unexpected.

There is a lot that can happen between casting on and binding off. Some factors I may control, others I may not…but, it’s how I react and respond to these unforeseen circumstances that may significantly impact the finishing-day experience and associated results.

I’ve always found it the key to realize that finishing day is by no means an isolated experience. In reality, it is the final phase of the journey I embarked on when I first committed to knit this sweater. So while knitting this hoodie is sure to be exhilarating (trust me, it is,) it’s also bound to bring along some unforeseen challenges.

The key here is not to be surprised; know that my body and mind will test me in ways I did not expect. However, it’s also the ability to overcome these challenges and persevere through them that also makes the journey of knitting a sweater and finally crossing the finish line so extremely rewarding.♥

What is your self-rewarding challenge?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Expect the Unexpected" (5)

  1. Stay healthy and happy, my friend.

  2. I will wish you luck… and I will wish it for myself. Odd how I just made a massive tribute comment to gauge (our common subject between us, isn’t it? It’s not only about the knitting, but life I think… 🙂 and look at you here… THE INTENTIONAL KNITTER !!! I’m so carelessly, lack-luster and unintentional about knitting… the whole ‘It will be what it wants to be’ takes me out of the run before i even start… I need to learn more from you. So , I will read and visit your blog often, and it does really influence me. In fact, you are unaware that you are provididng me with good lessons. 🙂 Or are you? 🙂

    • I didn’t finish that sentence . I meant : Odd how I just posted comment about gauge and fabric (drape) and factoring into design and shape, then I read this post. Synchronicity always at work… always always all ways.

    • Gauge is a funny beast, my dear sista. When I am not knitting for shops or designing for publication, I care less about gauge and usually skip the step. I play enough with yarn to know by feel and touch how the fabric would knit up and comes close with stitch/row gauge. But I didn’t always have that instinct/knowledge base. It took many knitting, playing, experimenting, observing, reading, absorbing, milking…each time I keep the “playful” mind, I discover, I learn, I extract, and add the new skill to my bag of “tricks.” I don’t hold “negative” judgement on my knitting 98.9% but simply acknowledge what wasn’t, absorb, make both physical and mental notes of the “facts,” and move on. I believe that’s what you are doing with your “tests.” Enjoy that wondrous process, my dear Jen. It’ll be so worth every stitch, every rip, every note, every sweat at the end of the tunnel 😀

Leave a Reply

