A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Rut Buster


You knew this was coming!  I am stuck in a comfort zone I can’t escape.

No matter what I do, I just keep ending up spinning the same yarn over and over again (like I am with my life path!)

Is it me, the equipment, or the fiber that makes it happen?

What else is out there? I am overload when I even attempt to think about what to try next…stuck with stash I don’t dare to spin ‘cuz I’m afraid I’ll ruin it.  I’ll just do what I’ve always done.

Do you hit a wall working towards a specific goal like I often do?  I just want someone to make me try something new that I never would have thought of, that I can’t make myself try, that might push me to a new level I didn’t expect.

Would tricks like spinning while walking, standing, sitting, talking, spinning blind…amaze you?  Well, maybe only if you spin? The trick–the only real trick–for me is practice. The hard part, of course, is having a clear sense of what to practice. This gets extra complicated ‘cuz everyone is different and needs to work on slightly different things.  So, what works for you isn’t necessarily the right advice for me.  Profound?  You’ve got to admit…that does sound pretty, dang profound, doesn’t it? Yeah, I thought so too.

I spent an evening finger twisting, thigh spinning, stick spinning, winding up in center-pull balls, plying my yarn, finishing my yarn, and getting ’em ready for use.

How do you like my fiber bash?  Do you spin?  Yes?  Do have a secret spinning shame you want to admit and find a way past it? Or maybe a pet peeve that nobody understands and you want to work through it?

Like me, are you afraid to try spinning something totally unlike your personality? What spinning thing wouldn’t you even try unless someone double-dog-dared you?   I have a few ideas up my sleeve. Lets see if it will work out…

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Rut Buster" (4)

  1. I LOVE fine yarns in blues, greens and purples. I don’t spin. I knit, crochet and am learning to weave. My stash is so large I should open a shop. I get boggled by choices. Fortunately, my second grandchild is due in December, so I have one more recipient for all my produce.

    • That’s exciting, Jeanie. It’s always nice to have people to make things for. My kids are at the age where it’s not really COOL to wear handmade things. I wonder sometimes if they would feel differently if they weren’t surrounded by art and craft most of their young lives? I love peacock colors. It’s not difficult for blue, green, and purple to jump right in front of me whenever I am shopping and hand-dyeing. It just happens 😀 Hope you are having a wonderful fiberlicious day, Jeanie.

  2. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! It’s lovely lovely stuff.
    I do spin, and I have about two or three different ways that I tend to stick to. I think it has to do with falling in love with painted rovings, which lend themselves to similar types of yarn. When I get the occasional crazy batt or rough-carded wool, or blend with silk or cotton, that’s when I get something different… and often when my need for improvement shows!

    • Heehee. The problem isn’t so much it’s broken or not broken, K. Those are fingering-weight singles. When started out, I had in mind to have it at least sport-weight for a sweater. I just don’t seem to be able to produce thicker thread no matter how hard I tried. Along the way, my mind wonders/drifts away…it starts out thick…next thing I knew I’m back to fine drafting. Guess my heart just wants cobwebs LOL

      My solution to this dilemma…doubling it with some silk and some metallic threads I have in my enormous sewing stash. I think it will still work to sport gauge. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

