A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

A Bee-yooo-tiful day


One Bee Makes No Swamp…thousands of bees gathered outside downtown post office this afternoon. According to a lady in the building, they weren’t there two hours before I spotted a big lopsided mass of tan bark.

Spring swarms are no cause for alarm. It is a natural means of colony reproduction, propagation for honey bees. Honey bees swarm into new areas when their hives become congested due to the rapid buildup of bees and stored food as temperatures warm in the spring. Hives are splitting as new queens are hatched.

However, it’s my first encounter, up close, that isn’t in someone’s or my yard, house awning, in the wood, in a farm…Under the bees were more bees. They seemed to be at least four bees deep around the tree.

This swarm was gentle, calm, not agitated, or attacking. Understandable. The bees don’t have a hive to defend, thus, are less aggressive. Their mission? Engorged with honey, they bring as much of a food supply with them as they can to build a new home.

Honey Bee swarming season occurs roughly from March to July. If you find a swarm on your property, do not attempt to kill the bees. If you leave them alone, they’ll move on once they’ve found a home. If they decide your shed is a great new home, call the local police dept or county extension office–beekeepers love to collect swarms, it’s like getting 10 skeins of brand-new yarn FREE just for picking them up in someone’s yard.

It’s my real first-day out since suffering a serious allergy attack. A perfect day.

I can’t seem to get this tune out my head…When the dog bites, when the bee stings When I’m feeling sad, I simply remember my favorite things, And then I don’t feel so bad.  Both of my girls did the musical when they were 6 and 8. What a wonderful trip down memory lane. Do you have an earworm stuck in your head?

I did manage to squeeze in an hour of knitting my lacy Laika this evening. Ooooh, sleeves. It’s you and me time…How I love thee! 😀

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "A Bee-yooo-tiful day" (3)

  1. kristinshields said:

    Amazing photos of the bees! BTW Sarah, it’s time to remove that Change post at the top of the blog. It’s been a year!

    • Thanks. I was glad I went out. It made it a very special afternoon.

      Haahaa…I finally figured out how to “unstick” the post. Thanks for the reminder 😀 I guess WordPress past the test…for now, at least. There are so much I want to change…a makeover overdue.

  2. Yeah , that change post needed a change ! 🙂 I love that you’re having a beautiful day. My bro once had bees, for about a year is all, and I thought them fascinating. Maybe one day I’ll do bees , and I’ll go running off to save some family from the swarm which has descended upon them. Thank you for the educational post about bees ! I loooove the color of your new sweater. Sleeve time ! Lets make coffee and knit ! xx

Leave a Reply

