A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


85-year-old Nadine Stair’s writing makes me wonder how differently I would live my life

if I had a chance to live it over again.

I’d dare to make more mistakes next time.
I’d relax, I would limber up.
I would be sillier than I have been this trip.
I would take fewer things seriously.
I would take more chances.

I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers.
I would eat more ice cream and less beans.
I would perhaps have more actual troubles,
but I’d have fewer imaginary ones.

You see, I’m one of those people who live
sensibly and sanely hour after hour,
day after day.

Oh, I’ve had my moments,
And if I had it to do over again,
I’d have more of them.
In fact, I’d try to have nothing else.
Just moments, one after another,
instead of living so many years ahead of each day.

I’ve been one of those people who never goes anywhere
without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a raincoat
and a parachute.
If I had to do it again, I would travel lighter than I have.

If I had my life to live over,
I would start barefoot earlier in the spring
and stay that way later in the fall.
I would go to more dances.
I would ride more merry-go-rounds.
I would pick more daisies.

How about you? What would you do differently?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "If I Had My Life To Live Over" (17)

  1. So wise to pick to have more actual troubles and least imaginary ones. I’m on to that one ! I think , metaphorically speaking, I’d not be my own obstacle in the face of seemingly every opportunity. I hope you’re having a beautiful day. Here it’s getting hot. HOT. Today the duo is getting a little interview (with playing) at a small behind-the-highschool tv studio, on a friends local events show. πŸ™‚ I”m nervous.

    • How exciting! You are FAMOUS. Eat it all up, my sista. And just be yourself at the interview πŸ˜€ I am in dire need to get the house clean again for a late afternoon showing…also running kids and hubby around to various appointments. It’s another nutty day here…

  2. Needless to say, I’m trying very hard to Not Be My Own Obstacle with it.

  3. I have been learning a lot about living life from your blog. Thank you!

    • Thank you, Jeannie, for reaching out and saying so! As I face my challenges and weave through the spiral of life, I find writing down some thoughts help keep things in perspective–a tremendous relief off my shoulders.

      • While it sounds like your challenges might be more difficult than mine at present ( I have MS) I find being able to share the good in life to be very helpful.

      • A dear friend went through MS in the early 90s. I saw how she lost everything that was dear to her when it “hit” hardest right in front of my very eyes. It’s not only painful for me to see her going through it. She ended up moving back to MN after making a “home” in California. Her husband of 20 years left her shortly after they got to MN. She then gave way to a wheel chair. She’s a strong woman. It didn’t stop her. When no one would hire her, she volunteered her services. She was determined to walk again and she did, with the help of a walker, sometimes a cane, and as you said, Jeannie…be present and enjoy the good in life we all share…and not fixate what we don’t have.

  4. Beautifully written. I often think, what would happen if I could travel back in time and change things. I’d love to go back to my high school days, choose Chinese language as college major and take up squash and running so I could grow tall and remain lean and mean. But, then I think, what about my wife and children? If I follow a different path, then I might never have married my wife. Worse, my children would no longer exist. I think about these alternate universes many times, and I conclude that the universe I live in now is the best.

    • Very well said, Andy. I thought of the same line too. But, it doesn’t stop me from wondering at times…how a mindless decision, a thoughtless action, one little move, a small step that I make changes not only my own life…my loved ones…and many that I may not even know. It leads me back to the video I shared a few weeks ago “Power of Word.” Such a responsibility to be alive! The reason I think often “what if I could turn back time” so that I would live life mindfully, thoughtfully.

  5. kristinshields said:

    Beautiful piece and photography as always! The best thing is that you have plenty of time to make those changes in your life that seem most important to you!

    • Thanks, Kristin. Not sure how much “time” I have but I sure will try to live each day to the fullest πŸ˜€

  6. […] of a classic fan & feather stitch…with random changes…into a wing-like, similar to this last one but totally random on […]

Leave a Reply

