A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Press On


History has demonstrated that the most notable winners usually encountered heartbreaking obstacles before they triumphed?  They won ‘cuz they refused to become discouraged by their defeat. After finishing my last project, I got a little ambitious and started Trickle-Down Tank immediately (previously mentioned here.)

Imperial Stock Ranch Erin–a 3-ply worsted wooly yarn–gives it a light, airy, pleasing, pebbly texture feel. I typically prefer DK or lighter-weight yarn. But Erin is actually cool to wear…maybe ‘cuz the gauge allows the breeze through? I love this yarn!  Anna Cohen, of Imperial Stock Ranch design team, used Erin to advantage in her swingy summer top that features a diagonal stitch pattern, deep V-neck, and shaping detail.

Anna designed the lacy, seamless garment for maximum versatility: A large-scale lace pattern, first knitted flat from bottom–center back–using short-row technique, then in the round, covers the tunic-length tank that may be layered loosely over tanks, tees, or dresses.

Simple diagonal lace pattern goes quickly with larger needles. Fashionably asymmetric from front to back, this medium-size tank–in my case a tunic as I normally wear adult-small in clothing–is a very loosely fitted garment, great for summer, yet perfect for layering in any season! It can easily be adapted to fit.

It literally took me nine tink (knit spelled backward) to finally make the connection. From center back to center front, one side of the bias lace leans one way while other side leans opposite way. Once Eureka’s arrived, the project was a breeze. It worked up quick, yet, is interesting. I finished the knitting in an evening sitting.

I am very happy with the transitional tunic and Imperial Stock Ranch Erin! Nice drape and it doesn’t cling…a fun casual!  Great for days outside. I love wearing summery knits.

Highly recommend marking–color codeeach segment as follows: Right Front Side seam to Center Front, Center Front to Left Front Side seam, Left Back Side seam to Center Back, Center Back to Right Back Side seam. Place markers on both side seams. Mark off the rows if you need to take a break. Once the flow is understood–with suggested steps implemented, the charted pattern is actually quite easy to follow. I feel with a better visual, even a fearless beginner knitter may tackle this lovely tank.

The shop sample consumed 2.16 skeins (244 grams or 530 yards) of Imperial Stock Ranch Erin. In my humbly opinion, the length may be shortened to conserve yarn to keep it a two-skein wonder…or continue in pattern as long as you like for an A-line sundress.

Like many knitters, I love showing off my hand-knit items, but, cozy cardigans and slouchy hats do not make for sexy weekend wear! Now you may flaunt your knitting chops and some skin with this lace top. Wear it with skinny jeans and a leather jacket (your pick) to go out on the town. Or layer it over a solid or printed (as shown) tank to dress it down.

So grab your needles, ladies–-it’s time for knitters to take back the nightlife! Both pattern and yarn are available online or in store here. ♥ ♥ ♥

The Tickle-Down tank is my lesson in Persistence and Perseverance. Life is a funny thing. It’s always testing me, challenging my resolve, while pushing me to the edge of what seems impossible. Some folks look at setbacks and see them as insurmountable obstacles. Me? When faced, I often ask Why not me? Why not now? I believe that no matter what life throws my way, I will persist and persevere–eventually attaining my goals and objectives. How do you face your challenges?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Press On" (2)

  1. Wow ! That is really chic ! I see really dressy, with a pair of gold, or red, or black silk pants and strappy sandals. Nearly a wee mini dress on you my dear. Stunning. You just love that complex stitch work, you’re nuts. 🙂

    • Nut-yep-with 100% proof! But, I do love that tank…really…it’s not as complex as it looks. You ought to make one. And do I have a silk blank pants and strappy sandal to go with LOL Great visual.

Leave a Reply

