A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

I Want to Be


HAPPY.   How ridiculous it may sound. Yet, I think of the very thought often. If I see an apple tree far away, there is no use in standing here and wanting an apple.

Go and get it.

Wanting something is the very thing that drives me to the road of UNHAPPINESS, the source of all miseries, greed.  While in the midst of my de-cluttering process, I catch myself wanting something and reflect on what I already have and the things I am letting go of. Must I define my life as happy or miserable? The difference between an enlightened person and one that is not is choice. Everything will align to your and my will. Would you choose to be happy, the enlightened one, instead of a “wannabe” wanting it?

This is the go-to project I cast on today–between errands, waiting for kids, in the car to grocery shopping, or just to have a break. Very intuitive knit…and a stitch pattern that serves well as a “trinity prayer.”  It’s not a quickie, knitting in size 3 needles…but I am truly enjoying the snail-pace that I am striding.

How about you? Are you enjoying the wondrous fragrant of spring budding (smelling the roses…of life?)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "I Want to Be" (5)

  1. Very many people want instant gratification. And then another instant gratification. We once watched a pair of ladies at a café, one of the ladies could not finish her huge muffin and when her friend asked why she had ordered it she said: “I don’t know, it looked nice and I did not want to get hungry later.”
    Getting it is never enough, the need to have more seems to propel people into a constant vicious circle of longing and wanting and striving for one goal, for the next goal… Having grown up in a time where possessions were extremely limited to the absolute necessities of life, I was amused at the invention of minimalism but it was at least a step in the right direction – do we really need everything we like or covet or want? The answer is blatantly obvious. And everything we have or are able to obtain on top of life’s necessities is Luxury! Dear Sarah, thank you for your post!

    • What a wonderful story, my dear friend! It’s so true. I am guilty of the same dilemma, too often. Thanks for keeping me in perspective, as always. You are definitely my voice of reason, Ms. Laura 😀

  2. My angle on things today :

    “I don’t have digital
    I don’t have diddly squat
    It’s not having what you want
    It’s wanting what you’ve got”
    by Cheryll Crow

  3. […] did manage to squeeze in an hour of knitting my lacy Laika this evening. Ooooh, sleeves. It’s you and me time…How I love […]

Leave a Reply

