A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Surviving a Storm


Getting up, lunch packed, and out the door by 6:30 in the morning…

Get the teen to Lewis & Clark for her State Solo performance by 10:40.

Just ten minutes away–not a cluehe says, she says–driver licenses and insurance information exchanged. Here is our worst part of the damage:

The other car suffered most harm of the two vehicles…

They had five huge, stocky dudes–all came out with their iPhones. I told hubby not to make waves. Everyone behaved in a civilized manner. Within fifteen minutes, we were swiftly back on the road.

and got us all at the college in time

for a warm-up.

At least, no one was hurt. Rest of the day was good.  The teen got to hang up in the mall with her good friends, Gabbi and Elizabeth, for a few hours.

Here I’m still attempting last piece of the recent batch of commissioned work.

I feel this will never end.  Knitting it over seven times.  Kid you not.  Seven. I thought I got it while I was hanging out at Twisted in Portland this afternoon…I didn’t.  Neither foreign nor complicated.  Yet, I can’t seem to make it right?

What’s the big deal?  Why not just finagle the instruction, knit the tank up, and turn  it in?   What’s stopping me?  It’s a shop sample.  That’s what.  I have to knit as instructed–line by line–to a letter T.

There are a beginning and a beginning of round markers.  I could’t seem to stop at those two points after the 3rd row once cast on.  After forging ahead and knit-up nearly one full skein, I unraveled every stitch…

It will be gorgeous and that I’ll be very happy at the end when the whole thing is finished.

I keep telling myself that…Besides, Imperial Ranch Erin is soft on the hands with nice touch to the skin. I don’t mind so much for knitting it over again. But, as this is going slowly, surely, I need another to-go project to work on–between errands, waiting for kids,  in the car to grocery shopping, or just to have a break.

At least, I got to see my designer friend Michele and had a short chat…surrounded by a few pleasant knitters too.  It’s another beautiful day .

Thank you for reading my rant and a little of an uneventful day. What’s your challenge today?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Surviving a Storm" (11)

  1. I’m glad to hear that no one was hurt and that all parties involved maintained cool heads. That’s what is most important.

    Your car apparently won.

    Sad to say, you still will have the inconvenience and time lost getting your car repaired. My hope is that convenience and cost will be as minimal as possible.

    • Lets hope so, Andy…guess we won’t know until later in the week. At least, we’ve all made it to the college for the teen’s competitive performance. And she did even better than the first audition and recital on Thursday this week. All good.

  2. Glad to hear no one was hurt in the accident! That tank that you re-knitted 7 times is gorgeous – it looks great.

    • Thanks, Cheryl Marie. I was too glad most of all that we’ve made it to the performance…after what we’ve all went through to get there.

      I am still trying to knit up that tank the eighth time. keeping my fingers crossed that it will work out. I am about to tell the shop owner that this is not an ideal shop sample and will contact the designer too about possible re-write. Such a lovely tank…oh, and the yarn is just so heavenly soft. I really do want to knit it up as the sample photos 😀

      • You have a really good point! If you are having a difficult time getting the pattern right (and I can see that you are an extremely experienced knitter) it might not be a great shop sample! Other knitters will be even more frustrated. Good Luck with it though – it is very pretty.

  3. What a day! So glad that the accident was for the most part “just” very inconvenient and nobody was hurt. Crossing my fingers for the results of the performance! As for your knitting – I feel with you! Spent last night unravelling an entire cardigan made with my precious Noro Silk Garden. It just did not look right. But of course, you are a “perfect” knitter, and I understand your degree of perfection must be 100% even if it is “just” a shop sample!

    • Me too. So glad it’s behind us now…at least until what the insurance company tells us the damage would be. Just hope they would rule as NO FAULT. Nonetheless, it’s good that it was somewhat minimal that we could see.

      Silk Garden???? Freeform as you go sweater? I’d love to see what you are playing with these days 😀

      This tank is finally geling together. As much as I’d like to have it finish before the month is over, it isn’t happening as I am spending all day today to more cleaning and decluttering :0(

  4. So glad I got to chat with you!
    Today’s challenge: getting a design submission out the (email) door, and 2 tech editing assignments.
    Today’s fun: I hope to play with the Malabrigo Worsted that I picked up at Twisted!

    • Me too. You looks awesome. I look forward to your next play in Malabrigo. I wonder if it would involved steeking LOL

  5. […] true.  After ripping out my Trickle-Down Tank the ninth time (previously mentioned here,) it’s finally […]

  6. […] by handstitch in Inspiration, Knit, knitting, Life, What I Made, wool Tags: Erin, FO 2012, Imperial Stock Ranch, Knit, knit 2012, Lace, shop sample, short-row, sweater, tank, Trickle-Down Tank, Twisted History has demonstrated that the most notable winners usually encountered heartbreaking obstacles before they triumphed?  They won ‘cuz they refused to become discouraged by their defeat. After finishing my last project, I got a little ambitious and started Trickle-Down Tank immediately (previously mentioned here.) […]

Leave a Reply

