A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Hansel and Gretel


Ohmuhgosh.  Is this where Hansel and Gretel were held captive?  I wonder.  I came across a picture of this house in Russia and instsantly fell in love. My first thought, of course, was how hard can that be to make?!. I have a few ideas…it’s just waiting for the right house to restore!  Oh how I wish!  Wouldn’t this be a great project for a woodworking class…for my kids and their home-school friends?  It’s got my wheels turning!

Original gingerbread house?  It reminds me of the book I once read when my first son was a wee tall, Easter Egg Artist by Adrienne Adams.

Orson Abbott is a rabbit.
His parents decorate Easter eggs.
When the Abbotts go on vacation,
they have lots of adventures.
Orson likes decorating, but not as much as he likes to play.
When a family wants their house decorated,
Orson gets to do the high parts…
When the townspeople ask the Abbotts to paint the town bridge,
Orson decides he wants to do the whole thing by himself?
It takes a lot of hard work,
but Orson loves it and never gets tired.

A lot of rural Russian houses have amazing woodwork (carved.)

But, I haven’t seen one painted before. Not sure I would love to live there…wouldn’t mind visiting and stay for a night.

If you think this is neat, go to Grimsby Beach and check out some of the houses down there.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Hansel and Gretel" (3)

  1. I wonder if the bright and multi-colored houses are a way to counter-act the depressening effect of long dreary winters?

    • Definitely. The Russian house reminds me a bit of the Victorian houses in San Francisco. It would perk me up a tad on dark cloudy days we are having. One of them houses here would raise a riot too. A few years ago, one of the owners in my neighborhood hung her clothes to dry in her fenced yard–her disagreement with HOA got on front-page on the Wall Street Journal. LOL

      It’s rainy here today, more tomorrow, and possibly snow later tomorrow. Nothing new here in the high desert. Good thing I got most of the garbage bags to the dump earlier yesterday. More cleaning to come…but for now, I need a break.

  2. A lady in my daughter’s neighborhood replaced her front lawn with a huge, beautiful, sort of wild-looking organic garden. Many neighbors complained mightly, but there was nothing in the city codes that prohibited it. Then one night one of the neighbors snuck over with a bunch of toxic goo and poured it all over her garden! (People can be so awful.)

Leave a Reply

