A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I indulged in a few acquisitions (excluding the magazines) even though I’ve sworn it off. Acknowledging these little lapses is an important thing to do so that I may move forward past them. I recognize, overall, my efforts and successes are more relevant than my slip-ups in the end. I move on.

Today, I declare an official Pat Myself on the Back Day.  It’s a day to acknowledge one thing I’m proud of me for doing this week and to give myself credit where it’s due. Just as important as it’s to acknowledge the little mistakes I make, it’s equally crucial to reflect on the things I’m doing right.

My pat on the back is for something pretty simple, really…for getting the secret knit off today, via USPS, to Knit-Purl.  It’s proven again. If I set my mind to it, that’s probably within my ability.  As said before, all I am able to show you is what it isn’t as designed, but, I thought it was a fun way to wear it.  Lets see if Shibui Knits‘ design team thinks it’s a great idea too.

Today, I flipped through last issue of Knitter’s Magazine and am completely amazed.

Out of 21 projects from Spring 2012 issue (K106,)

I would knit 13 in a heartbeat.

All for $5.95!

Money well spent.

It really hasn’t happened for a long time.

Star Treatment is another geometric design by my east coast friend Kirsten Hall, which I am dying to cast on…

Any of these strikes your fancy?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Pat Myself on the Back Day" (7)

  1. The black & white socks look great! (I am trying SO hard not to buy more knitting magazines … it is tough.) I just finished a “be kind to yourself week” and now feel very indulged and relaxed. Yes, chocolate was involved. 🙂

    • “Be kind to yourself week” sounds perfect too, Karen. I’ll have to incorporate that next. Oooo, chocolate is my week spot. Heck, when you live to my age, I am entitled to it 😀

      The black & white socks are so 60’s Opt Art. I love that. It’s good memories.

  2. Mbloomer said:

    Thank you for the view of Knitters. I love it. I too have tried to cut back but want this one.

  3. I too… can’t stop buying knitting pattern and magazines… just dreaming I might knit again! Thanks for sharing… beautiful photos!

    • Thanks, Mei. I love flipping through magazines for inspiring photos. I too dream about making all those delightful projects 😀

  4. I think the acknowledgement for successes as well as mistakes is very wise. I’ll take the chocolate ! 😉

Leave a Reply

