A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Smiles


Profit and Loss statement completed.  Taxes filed.  Teen’s back from The Heritage Festival in Anaheim late afternoon, yesterday.  Congratulation, SUMMIT WINDS, for outscoring all 39 bands–in all size classifications! In addition to the Gold-Metal trophy and a plague for outstanding band, Summit Winds took home another trophy–that isn’t given out every year and quite rare–for earning the highest mark and outstanding critiques by all judges. You kids ROCK. Thank you Dan and Lorene Judd for your wonderful leadership, love, and care for these young musicians and making an epic impact on their lives!  It’s nice to have my teen home…after a long trip away.

I came up for a little breather

and started some swatching for my next project. It’s difficult to knit up the next project for Knit-Purl and not say anything about it.

Luckily, invisible knitting here won’t take long ‘cuz I have self-imposed a deadline to have it finished and shipped by this weekend. Then, I will be able to share a couple of publicly knitting next. ♡^.^♥

Today’s food-for-thought (a chicken and egg scenario): Does smiling lead to positive thinking or is positive thinking a precursor to smiling? I tend to think the latter…Be a superhero today and spread some smiles!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Smiles" (4)

  1. […] shawl, Veera Välimäki I’ve been putting in a good number of hours on the knitting front.  Secret knitting is tough for the […]

  2. Are you not totally relieved your taxes are out of the way? I am. And congratulations to your daughters success with her competition ! Gold trophy is something she’ll have for her whole life, and she’s so young.
    NOw, time for me to ask you the most embarrassing question : are you a professional paid knitter for these yarn companies? I’m still trying to grasp the scope of your knitting ‘career’. It seems you’re a little modest, (read: vague) and so I just have to guess (read: assume). 🙂
    As for me, I think smiling leads to more smiling. So force one on occasion, cant hurt. 🙂 + 🙂 (they breed, and have large litters !) 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Might even manage a laugh, and that would be great. lol

    • Yes and no. The latter…’cuz I have over 10K to pay to fed and state due to early 401K withdrawal. The good is that we have put forth the motion and everything is moving too fast than I was prepped for. There are 5 people coming to see the house starting at 2 and I am stressing to get at least some pathways to walk through without people tripping over stuff scattered everywhere! I must have over 20 garbage bags to haul just over the weekend! Not much knitting today. I have all 7 spinning wheels out in the garage now and plan to have them clean and service so I can load them on Ravelry for destashing along with gazillion amount of yarn and knitting books.

      The teen didn’t seem to be as excited about the achievement as I am. Just this morning, she wishes it be over. She is performing at Lewis & Clark this Saturday. We are taking her there for a one-day trip so I can drop off some shop samples to Knit-Purl and Twisted in Portland. No, I am not a professional (at least not yet.) I knit samples for these two shops since last year. It’s how I fund my fiber stash. It’s nothing to rave about though. I’m making way below minimum wage. The last project took five days to finish. My pay from the shop was under $100. I would make a great deal more if I work as a “knitter for hire.” So why do I do it? I love trying new yarn and design pattern (I otherwise wouldn’t be able to afford or care to buy) and getting my name out to the –for what, not quite sure at this point. Nothing came about as lead so far. It’s time to re-evaluate my next course of action…but keep on smiling 😀

  3. […] My secret knit is finally off the needles. I know many knitters love the knitting but not the finishing. They enjoy all the fun parts and escape the tedium. In a small way, I don’t care much either for sewing pieces together after they were completed. But for some, it’s a necessity–it’s what makes the design element whole. Oddly, I look forward to tomorrow.  The final finishing phrase is awaiting…washing, conditioning, blocking, shaping, steam-pressing, and photographing.  I get such fulfillment. […]

Leave a Reply

