A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Trying out new techniques is always exciting ‘cuz I don’t know quite where I’ll end up!

It is always interesting to me when using colors aren’t typically “my colors” or “safe colors” such as Lion Brand Amazing Wildflowers, Aurora, or Ruby

or something I am trying to do doesn’t work out the way I thought it would.

But what comes about instead is so much better.

A mistake could hold such a pleasant surprise when that happens.   Don’t you agree?

The more I wear the jazzy wingspan (link,) the more this grows on me.

Affirmation of the day?  Do not be afraid to dream and to yearn for everything you would like to see happen.

If you don’t know about short-row knitting, you’re in for a treat. Many complimentary patterns and how-to videos are available on sites such as YouTube, Knitting Daily, KnittingHelp

If you haven’t ever done it this way, you should try it.

You might be very pleasantly surprised…I sure was!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Close to Something Better Left Unknown" (5)

  1. This Art Shawl is every bit as amazing as it’s little sister ‘mood swing’. You are so On To Something . I think Artful Mistakes are just Embarrassing Mistakes with an attitude adjustment ! 🙂
    And don’t you know it ~ not to be afraid to dream. I recall the 80’s quote from the RockyHorrorPictureShow “Don’t Dream It ~ Be it” . I love that. I think we *are* our dreams. Want to be a designer? Poof, we *are* designers. Publishing is not a gauge of success. Now as for short-row knitting… I don’t even know what it’s boundless reaches are, but I know it’s perhaps the greatest trick in knitting to date, (as is i-cord) . I would like to know what kind of wrap/turn method you use, there are so many.
    You’re so looking your best these days, just stunning in those bold earthtones… you are shining Sista.

    • Thanks, Jen. I’m aging rapidly these days and about 20 pounds over desired weight.

      The shawl is addictive. Really. I have been lugging two new colors in my bag for the past few days, eager to cast on next interpretation.

      The wrap-n-turn I love most for short-rowing is called shadow-wrap which I believe I’ve linked a resource in one of my posts recently, probably when I blogged about the wrapped hat. Just do a search on my blog page for shadow, short-row…? When I have more time later, I will see if I can find that for you. I think I have the short-row technique resources in my tutorial page.

  2. […] (first and second versions here) is quite addictive…so much that I use it as a relief from another crazy day […]

  3. […] fun–more intuitive swinging and jazz-knitting–and as swiftly as the first (linked) and second (linked) times.  You can’t go wrong with using Size-10 needles and aran-weight Lion Brand Amazing […]

  4. […] act of kindness is ever too small.  (My Mood Swing has a lovely new home in […]

Leave a Reply

