A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


What kind of week have you had?

I wish I could sit down with you today, lean across the table, and let you tell me about the moments that made you laugh or the ones that brought tears, about the fears you faced and the joy you felt, about the obstacles that seemed so big and the breakthroughs you never thought could happen.  All of it.

Even though I can’t be there…maybe someone can hear it, first hand. Like my husband…for every moment…every smile, every frown, every victory, every let-down…he comforts and celebrates with me, whatever I need…until I know again that everything is going to be okay. ‘Cuz he loves me. And that’s what love does.

He indulges my constant need to create…to simply make art.

Not a masterpiece. Not something to be hung in a gallery. Just loops, lines, and colors.

It’s not about the result at all.

It’s about taking time to be creative in the middle of my busy life. I paintedwith needles and yarn–a soaring wing(span.)

Anyone surprised?

Maylin’s complementary design (available to Ravelry members) is deceptively simple, knitted in one piece, shaped by short rows and completely in garter stitch.  My modified interpretation worked up very quickly…in an evening of mindless TV-viewing.

It’s vibrant with color and texture. I don’t think anyone will want to display it.

But I like it anyway. I like it ‘cuz it wakes up a part of me that has been asleep.  A part of me I’ve missed.

Creativity literally changes me. Scientists used to think, after a certain age, my brain was set. Ooooh, but…I see it so differently. Being creative makes new neurological pathway in your and my mind. It’s never too late to grow.

Creativity isn’t merely picking up a pair of knitting needles, crochet hook, or a paintbrush.

It’s essentially anything I do that gets me outside of the comfort zone. Anything I do that brings life into this world.  For me, it’s writing, cooking, crafting of all mixed-media forms, a long conversation over coffee with a friend that takes me to an unexpected place. What is that for you?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Hard…Great…Somewhere in Between?" (4)

  1. […] random piece I whipped up today–shared a similar base of like its sister–Mood Swing–is far cry from the elegant mystique shimmering in my mind’s eye. They […]

  2. My week has brought me nothing but good things & I need to remind myself to be grateful for them. My glass is definitely half full. The knitting is again, beginning to germinate, and I feel a breakthough for myself coming up ahead. Sarah, your life looks just so juicy good in this blog, surrounded by your tactile moving art, wearable, delicious … and with a strong palate and a memorable aftertaste !
    Sarah, you *are* art, to the bone. (I wish I could underline and bold and italicize that text) Your husband is a gem for supporting that in you, and I think I have one similarly, so I am going to follow your example and be Loving He Who Supports me with time, materials, and quiet praise. Thank you again, and again.
    Oh, and if you’re just waking up kid, I wonder what will happen when you’re wide awake. Crazy, but maybe it’ a 50’s thing (post hormone blizzard?)…I I feel too, strangely and familiarly, and coincidentally, also like I am just waking up into a focus of creativity that is uprecedented. Lets wake together (((I’ll make the coffee))) I have to say that I have never been more focus’d in my creativity, and more productive with it, ever before. Ever. Now is the crescendo of our lives perhaps, just starting to build. Lets go !

  3. […] (first and second versions here) is quite addictive…so much that I use it as a relief from another […]

  4. […] the charm. Just as fun–more intuitive swinging and jazz-knitting–and as swiftly as the first (linked) and second (linked) times.  You can’t go wrong with using Size-10 needles and aran-weight […]

Leave a Reply

