A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Spring is Springing


Start at the top and work my way down.

Tend to the cobwebs, clean the mirrors, cabinets (if I must), dust the book shelves. Then move on to the counters…last the floors. By then, i should be thoroughly exhausted. I believe in splitting it up into a two-day job.

Sometimes it’s the little things that save my sanity…in knitting.

With all the talking I’ve been doing lately about spring, I’d be amiss if I left out the modified-tee version of Valse De Fleurs, using Premier Serenity Sock for the body and short sleeves

For the contrasting, long sleeves, I couldn’t be more thrilled–for its softness, comfort, and drape–to put the 5-ply sport, microfiber Serenity Garden yarn (that has been in my stash since two summers ago) to a great use.

It’s just as good pouring through all the finishing details–added waist shaping, layered roll-up/kimono-style sleeves, extended length (14″ instead of 13″ per design,) and a fourth knitted flower in the back–as the first one.

This is my third test knits for Anne Lernout.

No words can adequately express my delight in each of them.

Her deep understanding of clothing construction is admirable.  There are a few ways to stitch up the knitted flowers to the body to make it perfectly “seamless.

Initially, I was going to over-dye the body and short sleeves.  See what happens when I let the mind run free without full expectation and commitment.  Look into the deeper side of life...some can make me feel good, some can make me feel romantic…it never fails.

All this creative thinking has been inspired by the new taste of spring that has been building the last few days. Spring sweater knitting patterns are loaded with texture and style–lace, cables, and lots of interesting stitches.  I love that they are an easy way to spruce up my wardrobe for the season.

But right now, I need to stay focused. If I don’t, I won’t get anything done.

Do you see anything that leaps out at you in the new Spring knitting, textile world?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Spring is Springing" (5)

  1. Thank you so much, Sarah, for your excellent posts and photos. I appreciate your creative work and your carving of time out of your obviously busy life – the whole mother thing. Love the lace flowers IN the body of the sweater – marvelous!

    Irene

    • That’s so sweet, Irene. I appreciate your visit, thoughtfulness, and kind words of encouragement. I too love the flower adornments. My designer friend Anne Lernout is just amazing in thinking up fun knits. I am very lucky to get a hand on it before its publication.

      Putting thoughts and small tidbits of the day down really helps me coast through my stressful days As I age in this fast-moving life, I find it challenging to remember what I did just the day before…

      Have a great day 😀

  2. […] Spring is Springing […]

  3. Your idea for the contrast sleeves? I am cautious to squeel on when I am not sure. No matter, I am so loving your ‘layered’ look !!!! I hafta admit though, those flowers are Pure Dead Brilliant. Omg… I am so inspired by your knitting. You seem to be blasting off into a new stratosphere of knitting my girlfriend. You are amazing. ( I got so excited, I think I just pee’d my pants 😉 Sarah, your color choices are just the bee’s knees as they say. Your artistry is stunning, and you yourself, a captivating model. So, what is leaping out at me this spring? Knitting wise, a very interesting technique (the thrumming) but I pulled the last post off of my blog bedcause I need to rework, rephoto, then rewrite. I am on to something, but as usual, it’s northerly climate-loving and I am just in the wrong latitude for this wintery themes. 🙂

  4. […] Look how Sarah made her valse de fleurs […]

Leave a Reply

