A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Own Little World


that I live in…Mine. I love my little world and it likes me here.

As in Navajo prayer, beauty is before me

behind me

above me

and below me…hovers the beautiful.

I am surrounded by it and immersed in it.

In my youth, I was aware of it. In old age, I walk quietly the beautiful trail.

In beauty it is begun.

In beauty, it is ended.

It’s been another great day, even being caught in a couple of raging hail downpour…and missing my teen (who is on her way south, with her school band to Heritage Festivals this evening.)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Own Little World" (9)

  1. Your photos are so crisp and clear.

  2. kristinshields said:

    Beautifully put!

  3. I am stunned. Is that knitted Cape of Nature yours???? Such vague presentation. Um :: isn’t sure whether to squeel or not:: Sorry for me it’s nearly always about the yarn and the knitted-up-thing. Really I ought to wax on about the Navajo wisdom. Wisdom is for smart people though πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, just a simple short-row play, modified from the pattern named Wingspan. I started another one this morning–very different than the first. I plan to do some modeled shots together when the new one is done. Each time I play with Lion Brand Amazing, I have doubts how the colors turn out. Then, it always surprises me with its outcome. It’s how I feel about the one I am knitting now…time will tell πŸ˜€

  4. Me thinks you’ve waved a magic wand of knitting needles and have created , nay, have INSTALLED your most fascinating art to date. Me thinks.

    • Kid you not, I was just thinking of you last night and this morning…wondering what you are busy with. More CD singles in the making??

      Haahaa…wish I have one magic wand, really. I have 3 shop samples on their way to me…one needs to be back to the shop by the 20th and the other two the following Saturday when I take my older teen to Lewis & Clark for her State Solo performance as first runner-up. All are sweaters. Now, am I over my head??

      It’s a busy weekend trying to pull together all the documents (which I still don’t have many!) to meet with the paralegal on Monday morning re filing. Stress time…wouldn’t you know it. It’s all nice and sunny out when I’m stuck indoor!

  5. Love your photos Sarah… beautiful and sharp! I know nothing about camera and taking picture, All my photos from a small sony aromatic digit, Find a good condition on ebay other day… a second hand Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FZ28 Black with accessories for Β£170. Sold for Β£150 this morning… damit! Should listen to hubby give it a go. I am not sure to go for a second hand or a brand new? Hate to spend to much again then regute(sorry for spelling mistake, hope u understand) later… too many of that regute lately. So much to learn for this hobby and my English isn’t that good… too many big words for my old brain…

    Keep on knitting Sarah! I am finish… only can dream from the past… time fly! Wish time can go backward… start all over again… just like knitting… make a mistake… go back try again… go back try again… been there many times… there is no friend to ask and hardly understand the English in the pattern… only way to learn is take it off and try again take it off and try again… want to knit when I was about 10… watching my next door knitting bags and hats… I wish I can knit one day… I dream! πŸ™‚ I left school at 16(at 14 the moved from HK to UK destroy my Education). My English is very poor when I left school at 16, I hardly understand the pattern. It take me many hours… years of mistake… to work out the mistake and turn it to a finish jumper … I am so proud with all those hours I waste of unpicking! So happy to know a friend who can knit… like you, dont know any in here live near me. Happy Knitting! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Mei. I am a novice but did break down and bought my first DSR after years of playing with point-n-shoot. It’s worth every penny of my investment. On the other hand, Ansel Adam shot many amazing photos with his basic pinhole camera. What I can say from my own personal experience about photography: 1) you have to love it. 2) Practice, practice, and more practice. There are so much I want to learn and shoot that are beyond my ability. Each time, I click. I am happy that I have uncovered something I’ve overlooked before.

      As for knitting, have you tried to learn from video clips? I am a self-taught crafter and learnt pretty much everything through books and online resources. But then, I am one who can sit for days and tried to figure out how a light switch works. There are gazillion knitters in U.K. I guess if language is a barrier, you may have to work a little harder to either find some Chinese speaking knitters or people who is compassionate and are willing to listen and likes to help others in learning the craft. Knitting is an universal craft. You do not need to know English in order to knit. It’s that simple. If someone is willing to show you by doing, all you need is to mimic. Yes, it would take a little long time to learn and do it intuitively, but not impossible to master. Again, if this is what’s calling your heart, you would move mountains to make it happen. But, if it isn’t, it’s okay to explore what makes you happy. Thanks for sharing your thought with me, Mei. Hope you are enjoying your weekend.

  6. Will find my dream camera one day… soon I hope! To many big word to learn put me off, my English isn’t that good. About knitting…you misunderstand my writing… I done mine… from my past time. I knit when ever where ever I can find time… between cooking and my spare time… I can knit till sunrise after finish cooking for my dad’s take away, I learned from books and knitting patterns. I was 16 just left school with very little English… I learn knitting from my mistake unpick and try again… unpick and try again. I have love with pattern stitch… simple purl knit wont catch my eye, I run before I can walk… its wrong and I waste alot of time with that. But not give up I make it in the end after many years… I am a proud knitter with my knitting. I am coming 54 now, with my diabetic and all the other illness… I just couldn’t concentrate to knit or finish a book. I feel useless, hopeless. Love to dream… to dream I can knit another jumper for friends, family or myself. Happy Knitting Sarah!

Leave a Reply

