A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Sometimes, as I knit, I think about knitting. I’m not typically that obsessed.  Usually, I’m watching or listening to something or someone while my hands are knitting or crocheting.

Occasionally, though, I will look down at what I am knitting, hands still moving, and think of knitting…something else entirely. Often, this thought becomes a puzzle. Even after few years of knitting, I can’t visualize the stitches. Though I think of the stitches that are required to form a shape, I can’t see the shape until I knit it. I become curious about the shape I can’t quite see. I want to know how my idea will look in reality. I want to put down what I’m knitting and cast on this new idea.

I try to make myself wait. I try to focus on what I’m knitting. Generally, I have something else on the needles that I ought to finish. I may be able to postpone casting on the new idea for days, even weeks. I have to fight it ‘cuz I know–once I give in and cast on–I will be obsessed. I will drop my other project, or at least give it very limited attention, and devote my available time to the new idea.

My latest new idea is, no surprise, a sweater. Not just any sweater. I nearly swooned last month when I saw my friend’s beautifully executed Nanookdesigned by accomplished designer Heidi Kirrmaier…so much I simply had to make one, but, in a DK weight…that swings

Even after I cast on, the design was slow to evolve. At the beginning, I was thinking of random stripes in complimentary color hues. I began to consider how it may work with build-in i-cord edging. The same concept in knit-on lace border would work for here, of course. So it did. I must not have been completely happy with initial design choice for it sat–untouched–for three days.  Here I have enough fabric to tell a pattern, a designing tale.

A good tale…some day…just not now.  So first-take off gingerly to the frog pond. Second attempt included a subtle textured lace on front panels and waist shaping. Look at me!  I’m knitting with lavender and purple colored yarns. It’s crazy, just crazy I tell you.

After a little research, I knew what I wanted to do in the front.  Failure is an opportunity to begin again more intelligently.  As in life, learn what doesn’t work and try a new approach.

I ripped out the hoarded yarn and put it back to work, once more. With just a basket of enthusiasm and–lack thereof–patience, I finished the sweater last week…just in time for its debut at First Friday Art Walk.

I love clothes with interesting silhouettes and shapes and clothes that can stand out on their own. That’s why I’m in love with this draped cardigan aka waterfall jacket. With it, I not only have a unique look, I also get a fabric that feels so deliciously good.

A special word of gratitude goes to my sweetest friend Christyallowing me to study this gorgeous sweater–and Heidi for being my inspiration, dazzled me with your clever design construction. I now have another “love” sweater for Spring.

At some point, I’m going to start another–but tackle the issue with collar sizing–eliminating the excess fabric around the neck.

I already have the perfect yarn to boot!  Admit it, you want one too. What’s stopping you? The commitment? An entire sweater with all those stitches and all that concentration? You can handle it…just one stitch, one row at a time.

I am still contemplating whether to block it out longer with lighter drape.

For now, I am happy to keep it where it is…for a little while longer 😀

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Daily Dose of Soft Surroundings" (5)

  1. I stand in awe of your dedication and love of knitting. Love the prose and the photos. Keep up the good work.

  2. It’s okay to think about knitting as you knit ! It’s okay to be obsessed. I think knitting while knitting is the perfect double task ! 🙂
    But those cuffs are sublime ! Those cuffs are causing me to look twice, then thrice ! Those cuffs need to be made into a Sarah Pattern ! STill, drop it and cast on another !!! I mean it. Frenzy is Creativity’s best team mate… I’m convinced.
    Please some day, bring to fruition , your best froggies, though frog ponds are , as ‘failure is an opportunity to begin again’. Nice. Makes me think of Prince Charming as the frog… waiting to be kissed, or in our case, knit up.
    I do thinki it’s a loveley length, but I know what you mean, you kind of are at home in the flaring dress-ish length of a cardigan (because you are delicate and beautiful and such accentuates your girlish figure) I just love the the way you wear with such aplomb. I aspire to model so well my own knits.

    • You are my best cheerleader, you know! I do love the lacework framing the cardigan. It’s mostly what attracted me to the design in the first place and a great learning curb. I like to eliminate at least one lace repeat on the neck/shoulder area so it’s not so bulky there. Other than that, it’s a perfect cardi for the season. I love the drape and feel of the overall effect shaped together by pinwheel construction in the back. I reshaped the neck and back a little more since the post. It’s not long as a tunic but it covers my “behind” a tad more.

      As for my pear-shaped figure, it ain’t girly at all…only if you see me in my swimsuit, then you would chuckle.

Leave a Reply

