A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Do Not Drink and…


Knit! I LOVE this flower design so much from Valse De Fleurs that I was eager to get the tee version finished last night.  Wouldn’t you know it? Wine and knitting don’t mix. The last flower hole took a wrong turn and ended up in the back. Thankfully, I needed an extra inch in length. No ripping but forging ahead.

With the amount of knitting I do, you would think I know better…shouldn’t I understand the importance of buying enough yarn to start a project? I have another 4 rounds and a i-cord bind-off to finish the body–and there’re sleeves–then I ran out of yarn. Just hate it. Absolutely hate it. After driving to 3 stores today, I am baffled where I’ve gotten the yarn in the first place?!  Over the valley, maybe.  Just as I’m ready to abandon and start over the tee in another yarn…I looked over my shoulder…and there it was…another skein of the yarn right in my basket glaring right at me!  It was there all along. Phew. Thank you, Lord…more than you know.

When I started knitting, I had a book called “Stitch n’ Bitch”–surely many of you have seen it. Debbie Stoller talks about the many types of knitters out there. One of them was the “Hurts so good” knitter. These are the people who pick up ever-more-insane projects because it’s a good kind of hurt (she’s less complimentary, but meh.) Turns out, that’s me.  My first projects included a heirloom, Shetland squared lace shawl/blanket, Aran pullover for an infant, a lacy dress that is still idling in a box since mid-90s.  Enough said.  It’s time to get back to knitting, without the wine,…satisfying my anxiety to finish.  Good thing is it’s all-important vacation, stockinette knitting rounds from here on out.

Come visit me (not now, later) and I’ll walk you through the tough bits.

My life inspiration today is from this cardboard arcade, made by an extremely bright 9-year-old boy…attracts one customer, then thousands. What inspired you today?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Do Not Drink and…" (2)

  1. I love that photo of you, the first one , is quite cute and humorous. Don’t mix wine and knitting? Well of course ! I think maybe we ought not mix wine and yarn shopping though, or wine and roving dying ( http://yarnings1.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/am-i-kidding-myself/ ) or wine and stitch gauging (no need for links here, YOU KNOW JUST THE ONE i’M TALKING ABOUT) I happen to think I’m a fledgling “hurt-so-good knitter”.. only a ways behind you . Glad you worked through the rough spots kiddo. I’d have to say,of the things that are inspiring me today, you’re top of the list. 🙂

    • LOL I don’t drink often like my hubby. But, this time I did…and fortunately, it worked out. I just got it shaped and gave it a final touch with the steam iron…and absolutely love this. Wait ’til you see it! Springy, for sure.

Leave a Reply

