A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

A Stitch in Time


Have you seen this cool, quirky clock that knits time in 3-D?

Actually, it knits circularly a 6.5-foot scarf in the course of a year–a single stitch every thirty minutes? Would you buy one?  I’ve seen many alternative/sculptural/literal clocks and calendars before, but, I really like the intriguing 365 Knitting Clock unveiled by Siren Elise Wilhelmsen, Norwegian designer, at the Milan Furniture Fair.  It turns traditional time telling on its head.  Sure, the clock doesn’t tell time as clearly as my  cellular phone or your iphone, but my phone doesn’t know how to knit scarves, either.  At least, not yet. 😀

I didn’t win the MegaMillions today. My plan was to be knitting from my yacht or from a lounge chair on the beach, on an island. After the summer ended, I was going to come back to Oregon and open a knitting ranch, with a small in-house mill, mix up with fabric and beads! Knitted bags need lining, might as well make it convenient. Well, looks like I’ll be knitting in my usual spot, on the couch. Thank goodness I do have some knitting to turn to–a pretty new sweater to take me into spring! Better luck next time, fellow knitters!

Last week to Portland was a bliss. Hubby pointed out this Green Clean trash can to me, right outside of Knit-Purl.  Not sure why I didn’t catch it before?  It’s solar-powered by a 12-volt battery that is charged daily using a solar panel.  The can contains a wireless device that allow it to communicate with its waste collectors when it’s full and ready for collection.  It does a job of a garbage compactor automatically to save time and reduce the number of time–by 80% according to BigBelly Solar Trash Can–to be emptied.

Another nifty, progressive beautification idea that not only will save the city millions of dollars, but,  limit fuel use and air pollution from garbage trucks.  This innovation is  already being utilized in cities like Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles and Philadelphia.  Do you have it on a busy city street in your town? Is it cost effective and practical? I wonder the eco-friendly “gadget” will make it into our small area, some day.  How about take it a step further?  This same solar-powered trash may monitor any suspicious,  illegal activity–i.e. vandalism–on the street.   Just a wild thought…

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "A Stitch in Time" (2)

  1. I’d want my clock to knit faster, maybe one stitch per minute. (per second is too fast) Who wants to wait a year for the scarf?

    I think your new sweater is going to be beautiful!

    • Did you see the conceptual knitting scarf challenge? Another year-long project but you knit this one by hand 😀 I just think it’s nifty to have a WIP-scarf knitted by a clock, yarn tail dangling over the floor. It would be such a conversational, ice–breaker piece to have in the living room.

      The cardigan is actually done. I just need to stitch the flowers on, add a ribbon tape to stabilize the button band, and still contemplating if I want to add sleeves or leave it short for layering. The latter is my favorite style especially in spring and summer. It knits up very fast in a day…the finishing takes forever!

Leave a Reply

