A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Mystical


I don’t know about you, as a child through teen-hood, I frequently found myself indulging in one of my favorite pastimes–watching anime. I would cry when one of my favorite characters was killed. I’d feel pretty bitter. I still do. In my daydreams, I fantasized being a character from a show, fighting a villain or being a princess meeting her prince-charming and lived happily ever after.

As one of her many hobbies, my 13-year-old love drawing manga-looking pictures in her spare time.

These 5″ by 8″ drawings shown here are just a few of her earlier creation when she was 9 years old.  It is all so far behind me, yet, the vivid memories make it seem like only yesterdayher sitting in front of the computer, watching some manga artists drawing online on YouTube, toggling between the pause and play buttons, drawing her little life away…

Time after time, I suggested hosting her own art exhibit or sell some of her art work. She declined without hesitation. It’s fascinating how personality traits, artistic interests/tastes, and learning styles differ between the girls–when they grew up together as if they were inseparable twins, in same environment, with same circle of friends. What were the outside forces that influenced/impacted their lives? I often ponder the mystical question.  What’s your personal experience?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Mystical" (6)

  1. She/they is/are so much like you , the determination and perserverance brings one to a solid sense of accomplishment!

    • I love to take credit for their beings and successes…but seriously, only influence and trait they got from me is my extreme stubbornness LOL

  2. Those drawings are killer ! Hey, I didn’t know there was ‘Anima’ in our childhood, must have been mostly *only* in HongKong and surrounding areas?

    • Yes. I moved to the states when I was 16. Before that, there were gazillion of Japanese animation dubbed in Chinese that I watched every day. A lot of them made its popularity and entrance to the U.S. market 10 years later…some are still being run and popular among kids. Can you believe it!

  3. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful photos. Always been a fan of good animation, including the French classics. When I was in college, I was addicted to the Saturday morning super-hero cartoons and Marvel Comics. Never outgrew my interest in good quality animation and stories. Still watch them on Netflix and, when I get a chance, at the animation festivals.

    • Thanks, Andy. My 13- and 11-year-old teens are still very much into it so I get to watch them still. But, the modern ones are so different than they were at my “time”–so much more special effect. Very busy. I often like things that are simple…I have a box somewhere in a friend’s garage (hopefully) that has 1st edition o many super-hero Marvel Comics. Someday, I may reclaim it.

Leave a Reply

