A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

雞蛋仔Little Egg


literal translation, aka egg puff, Gei Dan Jai, Egg Waffle, or Eggette, a cross between a little popover and a waffle.  It’s one of the long-standing popular street foods in Hong Kong...fond memory from my childhood, frequent patron of local street hawkers after school and after dinner with my parents.   Years passed.  How ironic that it too has become my kids’ absolute-favorite snack, each time we visited my mom in San Francisco?

Source: Christinesrecipes.com

Great treat comes with a hefty price-tag. Last time we paid about $6 for a dozen and they disappeared as quickly as they were put in the mouth. For years, I have been searching, hi and lo, for an egg puff iron.

Source: Williams-Sonoma

A friend told me she got one from her mom, ordered online for $30 from England, as a house-warming gift when she moved here 4 or 5 years ago.  A couple of years ago, Martha Kay at Barnes & Noble here told me it’s Danish Ebelskivers.  I asked a knowledgeable, kitchen-shop owner in town and it’s foreign to her.  Last year, I found an electric one at Williams-Sonoma for $59.95 and a Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan for $49.95 that looks like it may do the job.  But, no thanks…the price is a tad steep for this gadget girl’s pocket.  The quest continues without any luck locating it…until now.  As seen on TV, a cake pop or donut hole maker by Belle, sold at Target for under $20.   I know, not the same…far from the real thing.  Heck, this will just have to do.  I will make it work if it kills me ‘cuz–believe it or not–it’s one of my dreams.  I can do it.

Now comes the un-venting experiment…

INGREDIENTS (Makes over 4 dozens)
1.5 C Flour
3 T Cornstarch
1.5 t  Baking Powder
3 Eggs
1 t Vanilla
½ C Sugar
½ C Sweetened Condensed milk
3/4 C Water
DIRECTION
Pre-heat for a minute.  Coat the holes with olive oil spray or a dab of butter and heat until hot. Shift flour, cornstarch and baking powder together into a mixing bowl. Add rest of ingredients and mix well. Fill each hole with a tablespoon of batter and cook for 3 to 4 minutes.

Rotate half-baked ball over 180° with a fork.

Let it cook for another 2 to 3 minutes.  When a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out cleans, it’s finished.
Take the puffs out of the holes (with fingers or a fork, your choice) and lay them over a wire rack to cool.

Chinese egg waffle shapes like an hallow-egg.   Soft, not dense.  Crispy outside, with a dab of creamy custard  inside. My first production isn’t so…not as crispy and fluffy…regardless, the pre-teen boy gave it two thumbs-up.♥ I need to improve this base and work up a recipe with custard filling next.  The past is where I learned the lesson. The future is where I apply the lesson. I won’t give up in the middle. To crank out a batch of six at a time…I wonder if it’s more time and energy efficient, in the long haul, making the puffs with a Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan.  Have you ever have these yummy, little eggs?

What do you think of the topsy-turvy spring tease?

Whacky? Some says there is no melting of the ice caps while another says the ice caps are melting the same as they always have since the last ice age. While the planet gets tossed about in space on its axis by forces I cannot yet comprehend or alone control, I’m gonna buckle my seat belt, sit back, and enjoy the ride while I am still…alive.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "雞蛋仔Little Egg" (10)

  1. I’ve had Ebelskivers before. They are delicious! Thanks for sharing.
    Another 5-star post!

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Andy. I’ve not eaten an authentic Ebelskiver so it’s hard for me to give it a sound review. I did make some without the specific gadget and just thought it’s so-so. Of course, it’s usually the cook and not the recipe/product, right. My son just worked in and saying the puff is even better than Kitkat. That makes me a happy mom 😀

  2. Hi, just got to say, I love your site, specially your knitting. Love those hats… make me itch now… I want to pick up my needle again. Too much on my mind and things to think about… just can’t concentrate anymore. I’m from HK too… I do miss those egg balls, lots good memories thinking back… keep on knitting… wish we live next door to each other, love to have a friend like to knit. Mei

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words, Mei. I knit as therapy. My life is very stressful and knitting has been instrumental in keeping me calm/sane. Where are you? Have you heard of Ravelry? It’s the best social network for fiber artists, knitters, crocheters around the world. There are knitting meet-up practically in every city, every country. Don’t have one yet? You can start one. I have done it a few times and have done well. i’m so glad to spark your interest and do hope you’ll pick up a pair of needles and some yarn again soon. It doesn’t have to be complex project. A simple dishcloth, a scarf, a hat would do just fine.

      • sorry, i dont here anymore… only keep it as a reminder… I sort of give up knitting and crochet now… had a lot in the past… cant stop every mins I am free from the kitchen… dad’s take away… love knittng very much… lost the concentration now… always want to new stuff… dad say: i have to many flower heart… want to learn everything… 😦

      • If it’s calling your heart…then do it. Don’t worry about what people say. So what there are many flower heart. They are yours to indulge so long it doesn’t harm you or anyone else 😀

  3. Oh wow… yum ! . I’d fill em with all kinds of stuff, both savory and sweet. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

    • It really is wonderful, Jen. Mine isn’t even close…to authentic. Quest continues. I hope to get at least the authentic iron for under $20 😀

      • You continue on your quest, and I shall on mine, which will feature soon on JensCafe (stay tuned. ) 😉

      • I can’t wait, Jen. My mouth is watery thinking of what you come up with 😀 I’d LOVE ya even more…if you uninvent the perfect recipe I’ve been dreaming of, Jen!

Leave a Reply

