A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

The Gift of Art


As a child growing up, art always had a place in my heart.  I didn’t know it then.  To me, it was just a part of a play, pass time ’til my mom returned home after a long day of hard labor.   I would sit for ages and draw, or paint, and often write stories to go along with my paper dolls.  Now I come to realize art was always something I loved to do and found peace and happiness in the act of creation.

When my family moved to the states, I started a new school, a new life, and things began to change. I was a teen and along with all the usual pressures and experiences that come when you hit that age, I had started listening to outside judgements.

I turned inward and instead of running to art, I ran from it. It was no longer my safe place; it had become another aspect of me that my parents criticized me for. Years passed and I grew increasingly yearning to create but afraid that I couldn’t go back…

It’s great to see families out enjoying art. There’s so much to be gained from being out in galleries, art walks, fiber festivals from identifying aesthetics to looking at the techniques of art in every medium. It’s a shame that school budgets seem to neglect art, a part of self expression and self exploration!  Is art calling you from inside your heart?  Jump in. Savor it. It will give you so much joy!

There’s nothing sweeter than little girls and their 18-inch dolls.  I should know.  My own daughter had a large collection of Barbies and we spent a pretty penny buying clothing and accessories for these dolls in her early years.  Now…I am cruising through Julie Nutting’s Collage Couture: Techniques for Creating Fashionable Art for ideas and putting them all in my brain and letting them perk, simmer, and meld…dreaming up a sketch for a doll and next pattern to dress her…for me,  the grown-up! 😀   Have you made a paper doll before?

Ideas are everywhere. What’s exciting is when I put them in my brain and let them percolate. What are you inspired to do today?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Leave a Reply

