A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

EZ Clone


Yesterday, I spent an afternoon at Hancock Fabric teaching a workshop to a wonderful group of 4H young seamstresses-to-be…

playing with saran wraps

duct tape

and polyester stuffing.

For some reason, alien forms like this one kept appearing…

Heehee…DIY Duct tape dress form is nothing new.  (Here’s my first introduction back in October 2011.)

You can buy a dress form and lose many $$$. OR you could just make one, only losing a t-shirt and a few rolls of duck tape…

Why spend $100+ when you can make one yourself in just a few hours?

There are abundance of tutorials with step-by-step instructions on how to make your own dress form on YouTube. You will need a friend, however, to help you to make an ideal form.

I had a fantastic time sharing my know-how’s and playing with the kids and some of the parents

and was happy to see what they have accomplished in an afternoon

in the company of so many blissful people! (Erin’s shown above was finished with stuffing, but, I wasn’t able to get a shot before she left.)

It’s a really wonderful, warm, and friendly venue!  I wouldn’t wish to be anywhere but here.

And word on the street is that you may get to see an educational exhibit on this very topic at the local county fair in August 😀

I’m now back at work with a long to-do list, but, happy to be home, too.    What’s up in your neck of the woods? Wanna try to make yourself a double?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "EZ Clone" (4)

  1. That has *got* to be the coolest trick ever ! Even as just a piece of art to put in a teen’s room, nevermind using it ever as a dress form. I know ! The teen has a difficult time figuring out what to wear in the morning (I remember I did, very preoccupied with what I was to wear) that they could ‘dress’ their form every night, and work it out…. like a manikin. Wow, I might want to do this with my nieces Sarah… THANKS !!!!!

    • Too true. Never thought of that, Jen. For these kids, they are going to use the doubles to “custom-fit” their next sewing to be entered in the Deschutes County Fair in August. It’s a great, hilarious thing to do at girls’ night out. We couldn’t stop but laugh and cry, all at the same time 😀

  2. What a wonderful workshop! You can tell the girls are having a great time.

    • They all did. So did I. A lot of laughter in that small room. Their doubles will be well-used as they get ready for their next project to be entering in Deschutes County Fair in late July and early August. I use mine quite often whenever I am making a sweater.

Leave a Reply

