A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Velveteen Petunia


I love this poem. Does that thought cross your mind as much as it does me?

Source: Facebook/Firefly Handmade

Sometimes it feels weird ‘cuz I do enjoy handcraft and cooking.  This is one good example. Since I had so much fun knitting up Mousse Cocoon aka Irish Shell the other day, I couldn’t stop there. No, I could not. Last night, I cast on another following exact same instruction for knitting up the small one… in large needle and super chunky yarn, Loops & Threads Cosy.

This sizable shoulder sling came to 12″ (center bag opening to bottom of bag) by 20″ (widest part of body.)  I have always like Loops & Threads Cozy–very soft, with nice handle, and it’s 50% acrylic/50% wool.  I may felt it down for a sturdier fabric.  Instead, I will find some nice fabric for lining. This one took a tad over 2.5 balls of L&T Cozy (351 grams or 249 yards)   Just as fun to knit as the first bag (8″ by 13″ dimension) and quickie…done in an evening plus straps left to finish in the morning.

Unfortunately, I lack the skill-set to capture its truly beautiful, iridescent purple hues…not solid periwinkle as pictured. Nonetheless, love ’em both.

It’s a glorious Friday in the High Desert…high 70s. My boy and I sure had a fantastic time enjoying the great outdoor and catching up with a few friends. Great way to start the weekend. How was yours?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Leave a Reply

