A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Freedom to Choose


the simple, serendipitous things really is the best.

Each day I have a choice. I may make the world better for those I come into contact with. Or I may make it worse.

From the mother with a cranky child in tow to whom I give my place in line at the grocery checkout, to the mailman/woman I smile at, to the husband to whom I give the benefit of the doubt.  All too often, it takes a Katrina, Hurricane Irene, a tsunami, Tohoku earthquake, Christchurch quake, a medical crisis, or a 9/11 to encourage me drop my guard and embrace my common humanity.

While others call it random acts of kindness or pay-it-forward, I call it the ministry of the everyday” or uncommon sense.  Whatever I call it, it’s the everyday opportunity to reach out to others and let them know how important they are.

How do I change the world?  One person at a time. One person at a time…

At this point in my life, I’ve noticed–for the 50-year-old me–I think more and more about my purpose here, the meaning of life, how I am going to make an impact. I had tea with a friend last week. We were talking about the fact that we may not all be Oprah; but, in our small way, we may positively affect another person. That is what it is all about, isn’t it?   On a small scale, one person at a time. Love, kindness, joy, inspiration. You all touch me.

I’m not a Pollyanna. I truly believe that with all my heart. It is what hauled me out of the depths of mood swings and has been God’s greatest gift…the awareness of purpose. I try to do at lease one good thing a day–even if I don’t get out as a person–I can be nice online too.  (Oh yeah, I made another Brainy Zany in wee size that fits a preemie/newborn….and it went home with my knitterly friend Sami yesterday.)

And that’s what it’s all about…Today, you and I connected. And if enough people do this, we can change the world.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Freedom to Choose" (2)

  1. Underlining and underwriting every word of your posting of today! You are just wonderful, Sarah!

  2. Sarah, you say it so well ! I miss you too ! I guess I have been up a few times and down a few times since we last crossed emails, but I tell you , after reading your blog, I always go back up. Many hugs to you Sis ! xxxJen

Leave a Reply

