A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

A Forgotten Gem


no more.   A new way to connect people to the wild rivers that frame Sisters-–the Metolius River and Whychus Creek–has been found and ignited through the lens of fiber art via the Quilt for Two Rivers.

I’ve had my head down working, working, working…It’s both good and bad.

The good, I’m getting stuff done, and that makes me happy. The bad, I’m feeling terribly disconnected from my fiber and homeschool community.

You know that feeling you get–when you’re walking up the stairs and you think you have another step to go, but you don’t...Instead, your foot goes down.  There’s this sinking feeling at first. Then you realize you’re okay. I sometimes think I want to disappear. But, all I really want is to be found.

My bloglines have so many new items in there (over 4k) that I feel overwhelmed by guilt when I look. I’ve missed birthdays, anniversaries, new spectacular finished goodies and whatever else that hitting some fans. I’m sorry…especially for the lack of my timely reply to all your wonderful comments. I hate being such a taker, and not giving back. I do fear that I’ll be away more than I am around the next few months. I hate that. I hate feeling disconnected from you all.

In the middle of all the chaos, I had a terrific couple of days at my favorite shop The Stitchin Post in Sisters, getting a taste of Valori’s new fabric collection coming in April and Fall.

overfilling my daily cup of inspiration.

This week’s preview of all the quilts-in-progress on the Quilt for Two Rivers left me speechless. Total awesomeness.

The recent post describing Jean Wells’ quilt panel, by Maret Pajutee–Ecologist, Sisters Ranger District, U.S. Forest Service–gives a good peek at the way the quilt mimics the beautiful color and texture of her inspirational photos; as well as where she drew inspiration from. Excellent interpretation and presentation, Jean!

When asked if my cup is half-full or half-empty my only response is that I am thankful I have a cup.

This steady supply of inspiration keeps my engines running.

I have been blown away and humbled by the amazing master art pieces that arrive each day

from artistic quilters who have had powerful experiences that they’d like to share with us.

Some are funny and light. Others are deeply meaningful tales.

Endless, bottomless supply.

I’m happy to share these with you and hope that you may send a note with your own story of optimistic inspiration.

Most of all, help us raise awareness of the stunning waterways that frame the Sisters Country. Share this wonderful project with everyone you know in your community and on your social media.

Each week, the collaborating quilters will be sharing tales about their quilt panels at the sponsoring sites. The second art piece by Tonye Belinda PhillipsMetolius Meader–will be up next at Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show and Stitchin Post.

It’s such an honor to have the opportunity to preview these work of art and soon the exhibit on their maiden voyage here at Black Butte Ranch for the entire month of June.

Here is your chance to be part of the Quilt for Two Rivers Masterpiece!

Get ready for the naming contest on Facebook for the Quilt for Two Rivers beginning on May 7.  The winner will get $100!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "A Forgotten Gem" (2)

  1. So many beautiful pictures! All of them – full of inspiration and spirit! Exactly what I needed to see for the beginning of this wonderful day! Thank you, Sarah! 🙂

  2. […] Rivers, Three Sisters June 15, 2012 formerly known as A Quilt for Two Rivers.  Two Rivers, Three Sisters–among 67 entries from 19 states, the winning title was submitted […]

Leave a Reply

